Hey Apple, when can I get an Xserve...

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by bigwig, Sep 18, 2005.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    #1
    like this. 512 CPUs, 24 TB memory, hundreds of 15,000 RPM disc drives.
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    #2

    Right now. VA. Tech built one...
     
  3. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    #3
    Ooo... I want one, even though I don't really know what it's for and would only fill up about 30 gigs of it.

    *drool*

    When I'm crazy, old, and rich (IN THAT ORDER.) I'll get one. :)
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    jared_kipe

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Seattle
  5. macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
  6. macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #6
    Just think of the framerates you could get in Half Life 2 on that baby. :drool:
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Location:
    Omaha NE
    #7
    Since Half Life or any game can take advantage of one or two CPUs plus the Intel Itanium 2 is a very poor performer when running 32-Bit Windows Programs. To summarize: terrible frame rates.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    snkTab

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #8
    The VT one has more that 2200 2.3Ghz processors in more than 1100 xserves. Each Xserve having 4 Gigs of memory.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    #9
    Except it isn't tightly integrated like a NUMA machine is. Each Xserve can only access it's own local memory and discs. Big iron like this really is different; a 512-cpu NUMA machine is hardly the equivalent of 512 PCs. Individually the PCs may be faster at some things (like integer computation). Considered as a collective they're often a lot slower, especially on I/O (where the PCs get their heads handed to them) and on data sets too large to fit in a mere 4 GB of RAM (note the Altix maxes out at 48 GB per cpu).
     

Share This Page