HEY! Games/consoles experts......need a recommendation...

Discussion in 'Games' started by Joeytpg, Oct 12, 2006.

1. Joeytpg macrumors 6502

Joeytpg

I'm moving to Barcelona/Spain, and will be spending a lot of time on the subway......so i wanted to buy a portable gaming device to keep me busy along with my ipod/books. Ok, so i'm not very good at this, i just have a few computer games and such.

I know that the current portable gaming devices out there today are: PSP, Nintendo DS Lite, what else??

i want something relatively small (nothing bigger than a PSP) i like dif. games such as Sport games (baseball/Basketball) love first person shooters, some strategy..... which portable console do you thing has the most varied games? i've never been a fan of Nintendo, i just don't like the graphics.....and the two screen/touch thing ain't my thing.......so as of now, i'm leaning towards the PSP, anything else? ain't there a cel phone capable of gaming or something?

thanks

2. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

SilentPanda

N-Gage is probably the cellphone with gaming you're thinking of. Don't get it. Don't even look for information on it. It's junk.

I've owned both a PSP and a DS. I should say I owned a PSP and own a DS. The PSP had pretty graphics for sure but that's all it had going for it for me. The little nub on the left side you would use to move would often times hurt my thumb because it was so low. The long load times of certain games was frustrating to the point where I rarely even played some games I bought (Midnight Club Dub Edition for instance). Sure you can hack it for homebrew but I never got into that and I rarely played audio/movies from it as that's not what I bought it for. I ended up selling it.