Hey lawyers, what's a good LSAT score?

Discussion in 'Community' started by jefhatfield, Nov 7, 2004.

1. jefhatfield Retired

jefhatfield

i took the test yesterday to see how i would score...it had 125 questions on it and the law school director said a good basic score would be to get half right...i will find out tuesday night what i got

but only half right?

that's so different than the SAT where people shoot for a 1200 out of 1600, if possible

by just guessing on the five choice qustions a person can get 20% percent correct on the LSAT...i took a practice test i bought and i got a lousy 32% pecent correct :)

2. ravenvii macrumors 604

ravenvii

I'm no lawyer, but I plan to become one :)

A good score to get on the LSAT is 165 and above, that will get you into the top 20 schools. If you're looking at the top 10 schools, a score above 170 is what you want. The LSAT score ranges between 120 to 180, so to get above 170, you'd have to get about 80% of the questions right.

3. jefhatfield thread starter Retired

jefhatfield

the national average is 150 for people who have studied and prepared...my raw baseline score, taking the test cold is a 144...i hope to bring it up above 150 or so with proper study...i think 160 would be great but i don't expect that since a 160 is the top 3% percent in the nation

i plan to attend a local northern california school where the scores i have seen range from 142 to 150s for california bar association schools and 148 to 160s for american bar association schools
    which would be:

Golden Gate University/148
    UOP/151
    USF/154
    Santa Clara University/155
    Hastings/161
    UC Davis/162
    UC Berkeley/165
    Stanford, at a whopping 168

4. jasylonian macrumors regular