Hi Power Wireless G hub?

Discussion in 'Product Recommendations/Reviews' started by maclamb, Jan 3, 2005.

  1. maclamb macrumors 6502

    maclamb

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Northern California
    #1
    My two story house has some pretty bad dead zones.
    I am using an SMC wireless router - the one with two antenna.
    I am looking for a significantly more powerful gateway router.
    Any suggestions?
    (actually the point is to eliminate the dead spots, so suggestions for this are welcome too).

    thanks
     
  2. fuzzai macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    where are your dead zones in the house?
    like what is around the area where the signal that is dead?
     
  3. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #3
    You could get a linksys WRT54G and then install 3rd party firmware to increase the power output. I'll try and track down the link for the firmware. I've installed it, and it definitely helps. I can get a signal pretty much anywhere in my 2-story abode, and the router is in the basement (so I guess it's 3 stories, really).

    You could also buy a repeater or two to expand the range throughout the house.
     
  4. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #4
    Instead of buying a different hub, why not just buy a higher grade antennae for the hub you already have?
     
  5. maclamb thread starter macrumors 6502

    maclamb

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    My house is a two story house - wireless hub is downstairs.
    I receive very good reception directly above.
    But - above and 20 - 40 feet across are the dead spots.
    I have heard that repeaters cut the performance in half, so that didn't seem like a great option.

    I'm interested in the linksys option and the better antenna - suggestions?
     
  6. maclamb thread starter macrumors 6502

    maclamb

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    took a look at the linksys - seems to be about the same as my SMC 2804WBR
    b/g, DHCP, gateway, 4 ports, etc...
    the firmware upgrade sounds interesting...
     
  7. hcuar macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #7
    I'm using a netgear 802.11g router... I have no signal problems. The router is on the main floor. The PB works great in the basement, main floor, and second floor.
     
  8. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #8
    You'll get more range out of something like this than you ever will out of a stock linksys router antenna. It's 9 dBi, which should be plenty. Look up your current router and see how many dBi your current antenna is.

    edit: I looked up your hub, and it's 2 dBi :eek:
     
  9. Mertzen macrumors 6502

    Mertzen

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Location:
    ]KLGA[
    #9
  10. powerboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    #10
    I just bought the Belkin Pre N router and it is giving me better range than I was getting with my D-Link DI-624. Buy.com had the best price.
     
  11. maclamb thread starter macrumors 6502

    maclamb

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Northern California
    #11
    I'll look into a booster. Thanks Capt!.

    oddly enough, it's only the PB 12 1.33 that has problems - my IBM thinkpad t40 w/ Intel wireless mini-pci card works fine!
     

Share This Page