hi res (1440x960) lcd panel compatible with 1.25 albook?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by pna, Jul 24, 2006.

  1. pna macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    #1
    Hi all,

    This is more a curiosity question than anything. My 1.25 ghz aluminum powerbook is starting to show the dreaded 'white spots' on the LCD again. The LCD has already been replaced once for this under the recall. The machine is still covered under applecare, so I'm expecting that they'll replace it again.

    What I'm curious about, and concerned about, is this happening again after the warranty expires. And this has gotten me wondering how I could be sure that I was getting a newer panel that wasn't susceptible to these, or what my options might be if I have to replace it again on my own in the future. In either case, what I'm curious about is if these 'older' G4 powerbooks are compatible with the higher resolution powerbook displays that came with the last revision of the G4 powerbooks. This machine still pretty much covers my needs, and will for some time yet I expect. The only thing I'd improve on would be the LCD. If I could upgrade to the higher resolution one, either by paying for it myself or convincing Apple to do it, I'd likely keep this machine for a long time.

    Does anyone know if this is possible, or are the casings different?

    Thanks.
     
  2. baxterbrittle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    #2
    Should be entirly possible - I can't guarantee it but my PB 1.0GHz AL works perfectly with a 1920 x 1200 display in it. At least with yours your only swapping 15.2" with 15.2" not 15.4". It should just pop in and work - not guaranteed. Having said that I believe those displays had lots and lots of issues with lines in them so might be a bit pointless.
     
  3. Obsidian6 macrumors 6502a

    Obsidian6

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Location:
    Laguna Niguel, CA
    #3
    just to comment.

    I recently swapped my 17" PB ( 1440x900 ) for a 15" PB ( 1440x960 )

    and sure enough, it had the lines, apple took care of it however, they replaced the display for me, no questions asked, and now it is absolutely perfect. ( except i would like to get 1920x1200 or even 1680x1050 if it was possible, but it isnt, since it isnt the same widescreen dimension. )
     
  4. baxterbrittle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    #4

    It is possible to fit those panel types but not ideal - they require some pretty heafty mods to the machine.
     
  5. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #5
    1.0GHz PowerBooks were Titanium, right? At least the 15" versions, to my knowledge. I'm not sure if there was an early 17" Aluminum Powerbook with 1.0GHz processor, but I'm sure Aluminum 15" Powerbook started with 1.25GHz processor.

    I would say if you need to ask, it will not work. If you get it working, you don't have to ask.
     
  6. baxterbrittle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    #6
    No the first AL Books were 1.0GHz Combo and 1.25GHz Super. And I have got it to work and didn't have to ask. Oh and the first 17" was a 1GHz released at the same time as the 867MHz 12". Later the TiBook was updated to Al Book as described.
     

Share This Page