Hiding Programs While They Run

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iHatePCs, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. iHatePCs macrumors member

    iHatePCs

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    www.macrumors.com
    #1
    Is there a way to keep a program running while it being hidden as a backround application if you know what I mean... like QuickPopup on a Mac. Thanks
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
  3. iHatePCs thread starter macrumors member

    iHatePCs

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    www.macrumors.com
    #3
    No, to make it run like the finder in a way... so that there isnt an option to close it. But when you need it you just click on the icon in the dock and it just opens in about a second (just like the finder)
     
  4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
  5. Dr. Dastardly macrumors 65816

    Dr. Dastardly

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    I live in a giant bucket!
    #5
    Hit the red button next to the yellow and green ones. This does not quit the program like windows but clears the desktop of that window. The program is still running.

    Or like Blue said and Apple H.
     
  6. Mr. Durden macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado
    #6
    Or while you have the application open, hold option and click on the desktop or finder. The active app disappears, but dosent shut down.
     
  7. _bnkr612 macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #7
    Hold down the button that looks like a circle with a vertical line through it. It should solve your problems.

    Just kidding by the way, if you want to scan through the apps that are running hit apple-tab.

    Cheers.
     
  8. gallagb macrumors 6502

    gallagb

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    IN
    #8
    clarification

    i think what he's asking is if you can have a prgm open

    say Stattoo or Aqusition or some program that you don't really want to "use" at the moment
    and make it completey 'disappear'

    ie when u hit Cmd + Tab it doesn't appear in the listings
    so MORE hidden than just Cmd + H

    ditto that it doesn't appear in the DOCK

    kinda like Konfabulator- it is Running- but i don't see it in the dock nor when i switch apps is it an option...

    ideas?
     
  9. iHatePCs thread starter macrumors member

    iHatePCs

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    www.macrumors.com
    #9
    EXACTLY! I couldn't think of how to explain it. Thank You :)
     
  10. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #10
    You can also go up to a program and choose Hide Others in the Application Name menu under... ser... wait its just on there. If I was on my Mac, I could take a Grab of it.
     
  11. Santaduck macrumors 6502a

    Santaduck

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Honolulu
    #11
    Could you explain a bit more why you are asking this? apple-H is certainly reasonable enough, unless you're trying to hide something from someone else? Just guessing here.

    You could create a separate user account, and enable fast user switching. That would hide everything that user is running.

    However, Apple-H is good enough, and you can follow these instructions at O'Reilly for making the Dock icon for Apple-H'd apps transparent for convenience.
     
  12. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #12
    Dang I'll have to try that, thanks for the great tip!
     
  13. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #13
    You mean like a background app, right? Where you don't see it appear but it IS running.

    That is determined by the people who make the application, BTW.
     
  14. iHatePCs thread starter macrumors member

    iHatePCs

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    www.macrumors.com
    #14
    Oh... yeah I wanted it running kind of as a backround application (service). Thats stinks. :(
     
  15. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #15
    A service on a Mac is much different than on a Windows box. A service on a Mac allows you to take a screenshot with Grab instead of Command+Shift+3 in Cocoa applications, allows you to send a file to a Bluetooth device, search Google for the selected text, etc.

    Services on Windows are things that hog CPU time :)
     
  16. iHatePCs thread starter macrumors member

    iHatePCs

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Location:
    www.macrumors.com
    #16
    Darn :(
     
  17. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #17
    Right-click on the app in the dock you get a pop-up menu and one of the choices is to Hide Program. You can do it with a single-click as well by click-hold the selection until the menu appears. The easier way would be to Command-tab to the app and then while holding down the command key, press H to hide the app. Not all programs hide by pressing Command+H, such as Photoshop and After Effects.
     
  18. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #18
    Right click, lol, IF you have a right click mouse (I do, bc I don't have an apple original one). Just thought I'd not that, to right click you hold command and click it.
     
  19. alangyssler macrumors member

    alangyssler

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Buffalo Grove, IL
    #19
    Perhaps this will help...

    Hello! This is my first post at MacRumors.com, so I'm hoping I get this right, and don't clown myself...

    At any rate, it sounds like this is what you want to do....

    I have to run a program to access my on-campus mail account, and registrations systems, while off campus called VPNClient. The thing is, once it's connected, I want it out of my way, and more importantly, out of my dock, where it's just a waste of space (and on a 15" studio display, dock real estate is a big deal)... so here's two possible solutions.

    1. There's a program called "Dockless" that launches, and you can select the programs which you wish to launch without a dock icon showing up. or, if you're feeling a little more adventurous...

    2. Open up the applications folder, right click on the naughty dock-space stealing application, and right-click (option-click) on it, and select "Show Package Contents", and then navigate to "Contents", and finally to the info.plist file. Click on that to launch it in some form of a text editor (BBEdit, etc). Then, at the bottom, paste these two lines of code:

    <key>NSUIElement</key>
    <string>1</string>

    - or -

    <key>LSUIElement</key>
    <string>1</string>

    I'm not sure exactly what these things mean, but it seems to do the trick. I have had more luck with the first one, though. You may have to log out, or shut down before these changes take effect. Also, if you ever want the dock icon to appear again (don't know why, really) then just change the 1 back to a 0, or delete the lines of code, alltogether.

    One big draw back is that you will have to minimize the window to get it out of sight on the desktop, or if you use a program called WindowShade X, you can minimize it as a tiny little icon on your desktop. It rocks.

    The other drawback is that while the program is loaded, the menu bar options are gone, as long as the dock icon is hidden. So you can't change preferences, or anything that goes on in the menu bar (unless you do a key command, possibly?!?). So set the program up the way you want, plop in the code, or run Dockless, and your dock woes will be eliminated.

    Have a good day. Hope this helps.
     

Share This Page