High Definition on a Cinema Dislpay?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by punkmac, Mar 31, 2004.

  1. punkmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #1
    Here's the question;

    Will an Apple Cinema Display accept a High Definition signal from a HD tuner box with DVI out?

    Of course with the DVI to ADC converter.

    Would the power supply be an issue?

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.

    I.
     
  2. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    It will. The box supplies power and converrsion. i have done this myself with a samsung digital air receiver. Works pretty well, too.
     
  3. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #3
    Could you KVM the 23" HD display with a computer and a receiver so you could use it as your monitor and your TV all with the ease of a switch?
     
  4. punkmac thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #4
    thanks for the info...

    Hey thanks for the info...


    Just a consideration, with the sale going on right now.

    I think it's the best deal as far as actually being able to display all 1080x1920 pixels of an HD signal. Remember Quality not Quantity.(in this case screen size)

    And yes I think with a switcher box you could use the Tuner and your Mac.

    Ian
     
  5. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #5
    Hip, now I'm just hoping they update the displays so I can get a 23" of the "pinstripe" style.
     

Share This Page