highest specs..

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by peter32892, Sep 17, 2006.

  1. peter32892 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #1
    I am wondering what the highest specs a G3 clamshell ibook can be.
     
  2. JamSoft macrumors member

    JamSoft

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Mactracker

    Check this out. . .

    Mactracker

    Description:
    Mactracker provides detailed technical information on every Apple Macintosh model along with information on Motorola, PowerComputing, and UMAX clones. The database also includes Apple mice, keyboards, displays, printers, scanners, digital cameras, AirPort Base Stations, iPod, Newtons, and Mac OS versions.​

    Download: here
     
  3. peter32892 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    #3
    At the moment I am on a pc =( so I cant run that program. I am going to be trying to be buying a clamshell ibook or ibook some were so I can upgrade it. Hoping to get it to run tiger.:D :rolleyes: :D
     
  4. MIDI_EVIL macrumors 65816

    MIDI_EVIL

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Don't waste your money.

    Rich.
     
  5. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #5
    g3 466mhz I believe. I think you can cram 640mb ram and a 120gb hd drive in it.
     
  6. peter32892 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
  7. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #7
    Is what different? They are two entirely different machines. The G3 snow colored iBooks are faster and some can take more ram because they have more built in on the motherboard to start with. Clamshells are pretty dated things; only get one if it is free or under a hundred bucks and comes with extra ram and an Airport card!
     
  8. peter32892 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
  9. Silentwave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    #9
    MacTracker also comes in a windows version if memory serves....
     
  10. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #10
    I wouldn't try to run Tiger on it. Not so much for processor and memory concerns (I have it running on a G3/300 with 128 MB of RAM,) but due to the low screen resolution.

    The clamshell models only have an 800x600 screen, which is woefully too little for OS X to run reasonably. (Some programs won't run at all at that resolution, others are just plain hard to use, because they expect 1024x768 at the minimum.)
     

Share This Page