Hilarious...not really but quite amusing.

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by onthat, Apr 2, 2006.

  1. onthat macrumors regular

    onthat

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    Location:
    Ruston, Louisiana
    #1
    My friend Jordan just bought a microsoft intellimouse with bluetooth connectivity for his compaq presario laptop...keep in mind, on the package it reads: Windows service pack 2 or higher is required. On top of this, the box is drenched with windows xp only warnings.

    On with my narration, Jordan uses the driver cd that it comes with...keep in mind that this cd is REQUIRED to use the mouse. After about 10 minutes of him fighting with the thing, I asked him if I could see the mouse. While he's looking through the instructions over and over again, I set up my bluetooth...it immediately connected to the mouse and all the functions work flawlessly. He was so pissed, he just looked at me and said "just f***ing keep it."

    I now have a 60 dollar wireless mouse with a 1 year full replacement warranty...if anything happens, I can return it no questions asked and they'll give me another one.

    FOR FREE
     
  2. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  3. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #3
    CDs that come with mice are never required to get a mouse working. Those CDs generally just install a program to configure buttons or drivers by the company (rather than generic drivers). I've never encountered a mouse that didn't work right out of the box with either OS X or Windows.
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    Then you didn't have one of the first batches of Mighty "Mice," then.
     
  5. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #5
    Would that be the one that suffered a cruel (albeit well-deserved) death?
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    No, I didn't. What was wrong with them?
     
  7. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #7
    They plain wouldnt' work without the fracking install CD. Period.

    Fixed in a Security or OS update later, though.
     
  8. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #8
    I've used mighty mice with OS 9 machines. They work fine.
     
  9. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #9
    OS9 isn't OS X, is it? :p
     
  10. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #10
    I'm sure they do, as a one button mouse, or even two. Did the scroll ball work? What did the ball/centre click do, if anything? Did the squeeze buttons do anything too?

    When we first got them into our store, we ripped one open and hooked it up to an iMac G5 running 10.4.1, (required 10.4.2). Without options available, it recognised it as a two-button mouse with scroll wheel. I think it recognised the ball as a tilt wheel type device, but not a 360º ball. With no software for the mouse installed, the centre click for Dashboard did nothing, the squeeze buttons did nothing.

    So again, how did it recognise it on the OS 9 machine and what didn't work?
     
  11. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #11
    Worked on 10.2, 10.3 as well. Any machine customers bring in it fuctions as a regular mouse on. OS 9 would be the extreme case, which is why I stated that. So they plain do work without the CD.
     
  12. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #12
    We often use Mighty Mice on Windows machines. they just function as two button mice with track wheels, (horizontal and vertical usually).

    Depends what you mean by "work" though. I could buy a car that will pass it's MOT, but many extra features, like CD player, electric windows, don't work. Some would say it works, whereas others would say it doesn't function fully as intended, so doesn't work.
     
  13. jimsowden macrumors 68000

    jimsowden

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #13
    Could you say that car "plain doesn't work"? No, didn't think so.
     
  14. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #14
    I haven't used BT on a Windows box before...mmm... Is it always this frustrating? :(

    w00t w00t for you, though! :)
     
  15. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #15
    No, it is actually very easy. I've connected Bluetooth mice to my PC with no problems at all. I've connected a BT mouse and keyboard to my parent's PC with no problems at all. The hardest part in both instances was getting the BT dongle installed properly. The drivers where tricky. I had the same problem in my Mac though. I'm glad that my newer Mac has build-in BT.
     
  16. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #16
    OSX rox! So much better than XP (and i guess 10.3 is better than Vista ig going to be).:p
     
  17. student_trap macrumors 68000

    student_trap

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Location:
    'Ol Smokey, UK
    #17
    this was what got me whe i first switched (from win 98 to OSX), i took the intelli usb mouse from my windows pc and used it on my mac, it just worked. Then when i tried to reconnect it to the windows 'puter, the thing crashed, agin, and again, and again. I could never use it through USB ever again, and had to plug it through a usb -> old school mouse connection adaptor to get it to work!
     
  18. Josias macrumors 68000

    Josias

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2006
    #18
    Stupid windows. I love this thing with just plugging in a printer, and BAM! It works. Also cameras etc. I can't find the driver for my digi-cam, which makes it useless on windows.:(
     
  19. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #19
    The first one's off the line did not, that was what I was saying. Anyway, splitting hairs here. :D
     
  20. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #20
    So drivers for the dongle, right? Yes, built-in BT rawks. :) Everything I've done in BT with my Mac works really nicely...but the problem with BT is that things either work flawlessly or become huge PITAs.... But I'm glad to hear it isn't so bad in the Windows world...I was just curious because it still seems like there are very few Windows PCs with BT built in.
     
  21. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #21
    Yeah, the dongle drivers were a problem for me in both Windows and OS X.

    Can't argue there.

    I've seen a couple of PC laptops with built-in BT, but that is about it. You'd think it would have caught on more. I don't see why it didn't. BT dongles are pretty popular.
     

Share This Page