HL2 on macbook pro....drivers soon?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by OSXpert, Mar 19, 2006.

  1. OSXpert
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York / New York
    #1
  2. Kingsly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #2
    OMFG!!!!!!!!!! If they fix the fan issue I will be loading Windows on sooner than I thought!
     
  3. esoteric0
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2006
    #3
    yeah, i posted before clicking the link, thinking they were talking about the earlier video of it running on a mini. whoops.
     
  4. Kingsly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #4
    Except... its running on a MBP.
     
  5. OSXpert
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York / New York
    #5
    in the video its a powerbook, not a mac mini. Its a different video.

    EDIT...Sorrry for the double post
     
  6. Kingsly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #6
    Ahem, MacBook Pro. ;)
     
  7. OSXpert
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York / New York
    #7

    Sheesh, I guess I'm just really excited. :) Steve Jobs even mispoke and said powerbook at the mac mini/iPod hifi announcement, so i don't feel THAT bad. Thanks for the reminder though.
     
  8. ReanimationLP
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    ReanimationLP

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    On the moon.
    #8
    Interesting, very interesting indeed.

    I hope someone nails some x1600 drivers down.
     
  9. jamesmcd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #9
    hey this is awesome news. I thought we would never find any solution to the video driver problems.
     
  10. Meemoo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Location:
    Sugar Land TX
    #10
    Holy Hell!

    My X1600 will be running Generals playing with my PC buddies in no time at all!!!!
     
  11. Deinonychus
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    Hold up guys..

    Did the drivers to get the Ethernet/AirPort working come out yet? Because, I'm sure you need to be connected to the Internet to actually play any Steam game.

    Well, at least I do..
     
  12. treblah
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    treblah

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Location:
    29680
    #12
    Those were pretty much the first working drivers anyone found, so no worries.
     
  13. Deinonychus
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #13
    Oh, well okay then. This is great.

    Now if I only had an Intel Mac...
     
  14. Felldownthewell
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Felldownthewell

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Location:
    Portland
    #14
    I'm not sure if they have figured out the drivers problem. Maybe it was just the camera, but it looked like they were getting maybe 10-20 fps in a part of the game with no action. Could that be acheived without the drivers?

    However HL2 with 20 fps is better than no HL2 at all.
     
  15. Kingsly
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68040

    Kingsly

    #15
    Okay, you're off the hook then.
    As for the drivers... I'd like to see some higher framerates and a system properties dialogue box that says "Video: ATI x1600"
     
  16. jamesmcd
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    jamesmcd

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    #16
    There is no way that game would even boot without some sort of drivers working.

    As for the frame rate, it's too hard to tell the fps of the game, because the fps of the video is so bad! Take a look when he is doing other things, the camera is constantly shudding.
     
  17. OSXpert
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    Location:
    New York / New York
    #17
    Looks to me like whoever took the video did it with an iSight. At one point in the video the camera keeps trying to focus then unfocus, and sometimes randomly changes the brightnes. Those two things always happen to me when I'm using my iSight.

    My $.02
     
  18. VeganBryan
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    #18
    looks definitely fake to me. notice how as soon as the game "starts" that he doesn't once move the camera again? riiiiiiight.
     

Share This Page