Hmm...Motion 2...good for what I need?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by iMacZealot, Apr 25, 2006.

1. iMacZealot macrumors 68020

I'm an amateur editor and have been editing for about 2 years. I absolutely love it! I started out using iMovie 3 (that's in late 2004) and iMovie 5 (Last May) and I upgraded to FCE 3.0 last summer, which has really fit my needs. Suddenly, my hard drivve became defunct, and the Genius Bar replaced it with all my files and everything but, of course, the applications themselves. As a young male, it is my duty to have a messy room, and I've fortunately found everything but the LiveType data disks. I've thought about just asking for a warranty, but I've always wanted to get Motion.

Will it work with my setup? I have an iMac G5 rev. 2, 2.0 GHz, 512 MB RAM, a 160 GB internal HDD and 80 GB external HDD, and Final Cut Express HD 3.0. My main concern is its compatibility with FCE. I cannot possibly afford FCS with my budget, but I can shell out the cash for Motion.

What I normally work with is documentaries. My brother is in a fairly popular band, and I just came back from the far east to tape some of his stuff. I'm also planning on buying a green screen soon. I found a sweet deal for one at the local camera store. So, is Motion 2 good for what I need?

2. kiwi-in-uk macrumors 6502a

If you can find a legit copy of Motion 2, GRAB IT!

Motion is no longer sold separately - only as part of the FCS.

But if you can find a copy of Motion 2 then you can crossgrade to FCS for a fraction of the full price.

3. iMacZealot thread starter macrumors 68020

It's no longer separate? that's awful! Where do you think I can find a copy?

4. freiheit macrumors 6502a

The usual place -- Ebay. I see the once-separate apps from Final Cut Studio on Ebay all the time. As long as you keep in mind that not every great deal is really that great (which goes for ANY situation, not just Ebay) you'll be fine.

5. evil_santa macrumors 6502a

evil_santa