Home Bar - Help!

Discussion in 'Community' started by wPod, Feb 10, 2005.

1. wPod macrumors 68000

wPod

I am going to be building a home bar soon, or rather apartment bar. i have gotten good ideas for form design from websites such as this one http://www.barplan.com/images/srbar0111042.jpg

i want it to look cool though. that link shows a good pic of the shape (though mine will only be 6feet instead of 8 like the pic.) but i want some good ideas for finishing it. i would love a dark wood finish, but the types of wood, like cherry, would be way to expensive. (I am a college student working about 10 hours a week so the cheaper the better!!!) that in mind i still want to to look somewhat decent, not unfinished wood!!! I am open to any ideas such as color or syle (a cool idea for a bar top is covering it with bottle caps!!!) it would be cool to get some brushed aluminum plates and go with the PowerBar(see the name has already been taken) but i think that would be too expensive (though i havent found large aluminim sheets to price off of) . . . maybe i could go all white with the iBar!

btw I will integrate my stereo/PB/airport express into the bar along with an external jack on the bar top so people can plug in their iPods!!!

2. mactastic macrumors 68040

mactastic

Well for on thing, what kind of tools do you have at your disposal? If you have access to a tablesaw and maybe a surface planer and a jointer you could really do some nice work for cheap by buying (or even scoring from a reclaimed tree place) unsurfaced wood and cleaning it up yourself.

Are you planning to make this a permanant feature of the apartment, or are you taking it with you when you go?

Are you going to build cabinets into it? A keg-erator?