Home Networking Help - Advanced !

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by farqueue, Dec 8, 2006.

  1. farqueue macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #1
    Hi all, i have a
    Dlink 502-T DSL Modem
    Belkin Pre-N Wireless Router
    TP-LINK WR642G

    I have the TP-Link hooked up to ADSL modem with no probs.

    I want to use the Belkin Pre N to extend coverage around my home. I live in a 3 storey house and its quite hard to get internet access in certain areas/corners of da house.

    How can i go about setting this up?:eek:
     
  2. Reflow macrumors 68000

    Reflow

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Location:
    NJ/PHL
    #2
    Well you have to setup the main router on one channel and use the other one as a bridge. So what ever wireless channel you are using you need to use the same on the bridge (example using channel 6 on both routers with in the same subnet)
     
  3. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    I'm not sure if your AP supports it, but WDS is another option.
     
  4. charkshark macrumors member

    charkshark

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    #4
    I'd go with WDS as well, though it is more complex to set up & more of an expense it is far more versatile than using a channel bridge.
     
  5. farqueue thread starter macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #5
    :confused:
    Im network noob but that exactly is WDS.

    What do i have to put in Bridging mode?

    What about security? Do i have to use the same password for both routers etc?
     
  6. Sesshi macrumors G3

    Sesshi

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Location:
    One Nation Under Gordon
    #6
    The first thing to check is whether the Belkin supports bridging. I'd look in the product FAQs or ask Belkin directly. Provided it does, it should be fairly simple as there should be a section on the setup control panel to handle bridging.

    Alternatively a Linksys WRE54G will quite painlessly and cheaply handle range extension of an existing G network.
     
  7. farqueue thread starter macrumors 6502

    farqueue

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    #7
    DO the two have to have bridging
     

Share This Page