Hooking Ibook G4 up to 1080p LCD TV via HDMI

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by eximius vir, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    ok, so for the sake of the argument, I NEED this to work. I'll do anything to get it work (and already have)

    I bought a 32'' 1080p tv to be an external monitor for my IbookG4. I need to hook it up via HDMI to even get the 1080p. I bought a $100 converter to get VGA to HDMI output with HDCP. 1080 didn't show up on my list, and the highest I can get is 1280x1024. I then bought DisplayConfigX and installed to get the resolution, and i still get the same thing. My vid card is a
    ATIRadeon9700 pro mac edition, and should be able to go up to 1920. I've had a monitor hooked up via vga before that put out 1600x1100.

    I just have no idea how to get this work. any help would be great. THANKS!

    ps: I've also already run that program that make 2 monitors instead of just mirroring the 1
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #2
    you could spend 1000$ and get a new macbook and then hook it up using Mini display port to Hdmi ...

    maybe try tunring off the internal monitor,... and also, why go HD? I donÄt think your ibook can play HD movies? :confused:
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #3

    i need it for the resolution. I use the adobe suite for art, animation, and photo editing, and the extra size would be great.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #4
    Thats true, but I never heard of VGA beign able to deliver such great reolutions! :eek: also have you considered that on a 32" screen even Full HD will not be very usefull for Working? I mean more important than raw disply size is always Pixel/inch ! so i.e my 22" samsung has 1680x1050 , that allot mor p/inch than your does! Just try hooking up a newer pc to that screen, and you will be able to see that this will not help you for your work allot, maybe as a proof screen..
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    not too much less. 1920x1080 is a pretty large output, and only 10 inches bigger.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #6
    "only 10 inches " well you will see when you make it work, i personaly don't think vga supports that big of a resolution ... :confused:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    which is why i bought the converter, which on the box states that it can do 1080p
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #8
    weird... and you can't select a higher res for the monitor in OSX settings while NOT mirroring, and also did you try to turn off the internal monitor?


    just connect the 2nd scrreen, close the lid... wait... then press some keys on a external keyboard and wake it up from sleep, the internal monitor is disabled then! :D
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #9
    i know how to do that, but when on the 1920x1080 setting all i get is a blank screen. it flickers for a second then goes out. the resolution appears on the list, it just won't display at anything above 1200x1024
     

Share This Page