Hooking Macbook up to cable internet directly?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by reubs, Oct 21, 2006.

  1. reubs macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #1
    So I'm at the in-laws this week, and they've got a PC with cable internet. I tried unplugging the cable from the tower and hooking it into my macbook, but no luck.

    Am I doing something wrong? Any ideas?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    I don't know how cable works, but I'm assuming that it's similar to DSL. Is there an Ethernet cable from the modem to the computer? If your Mac is set to obtain addresses automatically (DHCP) then it should work without any problems. If it's USB then you may need to use some sort of connection software (PPPoA?). I'm sure someone else will be able to help a bit more :)
     
  3. ChickenSwartz macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    #3
    At my house you have to "reset" the cable modem when you switch machines. Do this by unpluging power cable, wait a minute, then plug in.
     
  4. extraextra macrumors 68000

    extraextra

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Hm, I have a DSL modem and I can unplug it and hook it up to any computer without problems.

    The box should have a "reset" button on it, that might work. Or you might have to change the internet settings on your Macbook.
     
  5. reubs thread starter macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
  6. the Western zoo macrumors 6502

    the Western zoo

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    Aarhus C, Denmark
    #6
    my mother's internet is running on some wierd USB cable modem wich is windowns only...
     

Share This Page