Hooking up multiple items to my home theater system

Discussion in 'Digital Audio' started by JW008, Jan 15, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #1
    Hi everyone, I'm not entirely sure if this is where I need to post this, but I had an audio question and was hoping someone could help.

    I have a cheap-o (Insignia from Best Buy) 6.1 home-theater DVD system which more than suits my needs as far as sound quality goes. I run my HD/DVR receiver and Wii through the system, but have to unplug and replug the red/white cables for each system every time I switch from watching TV to playing Wii.

    Is there splitter (?) I can buy to where I can plug in both the Wii and the receiver into a system and then plug that system into my home-theater system?

    I have an HP 42" Plasma television. Is there anyway I can plug the audio into it and then hook up the home theater system directly to the TV?

    Thanks for your all's help!
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Cooknn

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2003
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    #2
    Use optical between your HD/DVR and your 6.1 receiver.
     
  3. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #3
    Does the TV have an Audio out connector? Some do, that will allow you to hook up all the devices to the TV and tell the TV to send all its audio to the receiver. (Preferably by optical).

    B
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #4
    Thanks for the title change--more accurately reflects what I'm asking!

    I'm pretty much an idiot when it comes to this stuff. What do you mean by "optical?" Do you have a link to Best Buy/Wal-Mart etc? Thanks so much for your help.
     
  5. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #5
    Can you tell us the model # of your display.

    B
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #6
    The TV? HP PL5060N

    The 6.1 system is Insignia it's a 5-Disc changer...that's all I know about it. :)
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #7
    BalamW--just saw your post. The TV DOES have a Digital Audio out.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #8
    All right. I have a "Digital Coaxial Out" and a "Digital Coaxial In" on my 6.1 system and a "Digital Audio Out" on my TV. (Those are the exact names as labeled on the respective systems)

    If I buy a digital coaxial cable from Best Buy, I run the cable between the "Digital Audio Out" on my TV and the "Digital Coaxial In" on my 6.1 system and then plug all the left/right audio into the TV. That should be the solution to my problem?
     
  9. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    Should do unless the TV only forwards digital audio in to the digital audio out. (i.e it doesn't have an ADC on the analog inputs.)

    EDIT: Confirmed. http://h10032.www1.hp.com/ctg/Manual/c00633133.pdf

    See the section on Connecting an External Audio System ...

    You'll need to hook up both the digital and analog audio outputs to your receiver.

    B
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #10
    Thanks so much, I really appreciate your time.
     

Share This Page