Hosting games with Airport?

Discussion in 'Games' started by digitalgiant, Apr 15, 2003.

  1. digitalgiant macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Knoxville Tenneesse
    #1
    Hey gang, does anyone know how to host games on GameRanger though an Airport base station? I know what the port nimbers are for the game i want to host (GhostRecon). But how do I set it up? BTW I am using a 667 PB. Please help I want to shoot the crap out my Dad (he thinks he can beat me,hahahaha)!!!!

    [Edit] ok I got the port numbers, now what ip address do I use? The one airport gives me or the one I get from my service provider?
     
  2. Jeffx342 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Location:
    North Andover
  3. digitalgiant thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    Knoxville Tenneesse
  4. Muskie macrumors 6502

    Muskie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    #4
    Granted, this thread is over a year old... but I've got the same question. I've tried opening the ports in sys prefs and then mapping them in airport admin utility. But I still have had no luck. Did you ever solve your problem? Thanks
     
  5. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #5
    You need to use the IP address (the one that you give to others to connect) that your ISP gives you. Also known as your WAN address on some routers. You can always just use www.whatismyip.com to get your external IP.
     
  6. Darwin macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #6
    Since it has been a year who won anyways :D
     

Share This Page