Housekeeping MACOSX

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by derekmcwilliams, Oct 30, 2004.

1. derekmcwilliams macrumors newbie

Jun 30, 2004
    In the UK

I am relatively new to Macs, and so Im looking for some advice.

Im running a fiarly simple setup, iLife + firefox + Microsoft office + ProTools + Reason.

I want to be able to keep the machine tidy, when im uninstallating programs etc... what regular housekeeping do you guys recommend?

I also want to learn how to start sentances that dont start with 'I'. :)

I thanks boys.

2. LeeTom macrumors 68000

May 31, 2004
    Thank girls too, but... One useful thing is "repairing permissions".
    Applications -> Utilities -> Disk Utility.
    Click on your system disk, and click the repair permissions button.

That's all I do, and my system runs great, but other people will probably post some more advanced stuff like, anacron stuff... I don't bother. I just use the thing, and it works. the end.

Lee Tom
  3. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

Jul 4, 2004
    It's best to do this from the installation disk that came with your machine. I don't believe that it does the full process when you do it from your startup disk.

Put the disk in the machine, restart while holding down 'C', this boots the machine from the CD. When the installer screen comes up go to the Installer menu and choose 'Disk Utility'. Then run 'repair permissions' over your startup disk. When finished, quit the installer and restart the machine normally.

Another good utility to run is MacJanitor.
    It is free and you can download it from here:
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

Oct 21, 2003
    Portland, OR
    The skinny..

This is actually the opposite of what should be done.

Repairing Permissions off the CD should only be done in an emergency.