How about a G3 plus Vector Unit

Discussion in 'Hardware Rumors' started by elensil, Aug 15, 2002.

  1. elensil macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    #1
    I have heard that G3 can go up to Gazillion Ghz (ok i meant FASTER then G4). Sahara (700mhz G3) is already using .13 micron architechture. I also heard that IBM had developed a vector unit (AltiVec copy). Next step is logical and welcome. Cheap and fast, energy efficient, vector enabled chip.
    Welcome in new iBooks:D
     
  2. topicolo macrumors 68000

    topicolo

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Location:
    Ottawa, ON
    #2
    jeez, if that happened, the G3s would have to be renamed to G4.5s because they'd be sooo much better than moto's pieces of crap
     
  3. ThomasB macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    #3
    No MP support

    The G3's (in their current design) are not multi-processor capable. But if the are really fast who cares? The G3 FX-something (Sahara) are already available at 1 GHz, and have been for months.

    -Thomas
     
  4. firewire2001 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    Re: No MP support

    from what ive heard it has absolutely nothing to do with the processor architecture when you get into mp's.. it has to do with other factors...

    if im wrong.. why arent the g3's mp capable?
     
  5. rice_web macrumors 6502a

    rice_web

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Location:
    Minot, North Dakota
    #5
    The G3 with vector processing could find a home in the laptops and iMacs, where dual-processing is not of importance. Good possibility if Apple wants to move away from Motorola all together.
     
  6. Macpoops macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2002
    Location:
    PA
    #6
    Isn' t the G4 basicly a G3 with a vector processing unit with a few improvements. Namely smp? So basicly your asking for an IBM G4. we're getting an IBM G5 based on the POWER4 in a POWERPC version the question is when
     
  7. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

    nuckinfutz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    #7
    People ...


    The G4 is a G3 with Altivec and a 604 FPU.

    Any rumors of G3's clocking to outrageous levels over a G4 are false. In fact with the short piplines of both processors both are pretty much equal in clocking capability.


    G3's don't support the 5 states of Cache Coherency which is called MERSI

    Modified
    Exclusive
    Reserved
    Shared
    Invalid

    You could run G3's in a MP config but they would be inefficient.
     
  8. Chryx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    #8
    Originally posted by nuckinfutz
    Any rumors of G3's clocking to outrageous levels over a G4 are false. In fact with the short piplines of both processors both are pretty much equal in clocking capability.

    The 750FX is 4-stage, the 7455 is 7-stage, but the 750FX is .13 :)
     
  9. drastik macrumors 6502a

    drastik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Nashvegas
    #9
    I love the G3s, my pismo still rocks, tho I want an ibook now. I wish that Appple would switch to IBM, they are just a better company, even Motos phones are crap.
     
  10. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #10
    the g4 WAS a g3 with a vpu, it is no longer such.
     
  11. nuckinfutz macrumors 603

    nuckinfutz

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    #11
    Sucks doesn't it

    Had Moto had the .13 micron die shrink for the G4's we'd be looking at 1.4Ghz Powermacs right now instead of 1.25
     
  12. rice_web macrumors 6502a

    rice_web

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Location:
    Minot, North Dakota
    #12
    Don't worry, we'll see faster G4s using .13micron manufacturing by November in a quiet release of an updated PowerMac... using the fully-DDR memory compatible 7470.

    Just a hunch, but I'd put my money on it.
     
  13. Mr Jobs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    they should have an ibook G3 with the victor instructions in it by some time next year...it gonna be called an 'ibook G4'
     

Share This Page