How about them gas prices???

Discussion in 'Politics, Religion, Social Issues' started by kuyu, Apr 13, 2004.

1. kuyu macrumors 6502a

kuyu

I'm a delivery driver. These gas prices blow. My income is much lower due to this OPEC BS.

I wonder what a tariff threat to the nations of OPEC that is contingent of a certain level of output would do.

Better yet, get Gates to shut down their computers unless they stop this stupid gouge on the American consumer.

Thoughts....?

2. mactastic macrumors 68040

mactastic

You'd think the one thing this administration could get right is being able to talk to OPEC about the oil and gas industry. And before anyone starts complaining about the evil Democrats blocking our Great President's Energy Policy (otherwise known as The Secret Pact), even with it's passage in year one of the Bush administration, NO OIL WOULD YET BE FLOWING FROM NEW DOMESTIC SOURCES. Whether it would help in the future is debatable, but at the current time it would do no good.

3. zimv20 macrumors 601

zimv20

i'm sorry it's affecting you this way. (do you have your own business? if not, how is it affecting your bottom line?)

but -- i'm happy they're up and hope they go even higher. maybe words like 'conservation' and 'high mileage' will creep back into the national vocabulary.

i think this is the only way american drivers will start buying better mileage cars and, ultimately, reduce our foreign oil dependence. i don't know if the day is today, but it's coming sooner or later.

(on NPR the other day, they revealed the gas mileage of the model T -- it was either 21 or 28 mpg, i forget which. how sad that we haven't been able to improve much on that)

4. kuyu thread starter macrumors 6502a

kuyu

I deliver pizza's in my own car. I buy the gas, so the price affects my income.

Personally, I'd love to have a hybrid, but I can't afford one.

The model T did get better gas milege than Ford's current line-up. However, it was a bit more environmentally unfriendly.