how accesible is my iMacs non-user accesible RAM?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by slipper, Jan 6, 2004.

  1. slipper macrumors 68000

    slipper

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #1
    hey guys and gals, i ordered RAM from crucial for both my iBook and my sisters iMac (17" G4 1.25ghz). im happy cause they got my RAM correct, however they sent the wrong RAM for my sister. i spoke to the directly when i ordered and the sales rep got me the wrong one, DIMM instead of the SO-DIMM. so instead of sending it back, im gonna give it a try. how hard is it to switch the 'user non-accesible' RAM?
     
  2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    DO NOT DO IT. Even if you can (which I have no idea how hard it might be, not easy I would imagine, it's porbably fixed to the logic board), you can wave good bye to your warrenty and any Apple support.
     
  3. rock6079 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #3
    not that hard

    actually it isnt thast hard at all. unfortunatly i do not have any specific details for you but i do know in a recent macaddict mag they had a whole section on the insides of macs. obviously one of them was the imac. it gave good instructions on how to safely do this. but as edesignuk said it will void your warrenty so proceed with caution
     
  4. Spock macrumors 68000

    Spock

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Vulcan
    #4
  5. hobbes3113 macrumors regular

    hobbes3113

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    It is not that hard. I did it with minimal instruction from the friendly people at J&R computer world. You just have to be careful when you pop out the bottom. It would be help you out a bit to have a friend there to support the base, but not necessary (I did it by myself)...
     

Share This Page