How Bestbuy is showing off the new Vista OS

Discussion in 'Picture Gallery' started by hockeymonkey83, Feb 11, 2007.

  1. hockeymonkey83 macrumors member

    hockeymonkey83

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    #1
    I thought this was funny so i took a picture with my phone :)[​IMG]
     
  2. SkyBell macrumors 604

    SkyBell

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    Texas, unfortunately.
    #2
    Um... what does it say? I've got pretty horrible eyes.
     
  3. NotFound macrumors 6502a

    NotFound

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    #3
    A boot options menu?


    Please point out the humor to me?:confused:
     
  4. brepublican macrumors 6502a

    brepublican

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    Its not your eyes, its a pretty horrible shot! Or maybe... maybe I also have bad eyes? :D
     
  5. Lixivial macrumors 6502a

    Lixivial

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Location:
    Between cats, dogs and wanderlust.
    #5
    It's the boot loader. It's where you select an OS in a multi-boot environment. I don't understand the amusement in it, as it's reminiscent of previous iterations of NTLDR.

    It'd be like demoing a Macintosh while in the Boot Camp or in the PPC-based OS 9/OS X switcher. Difference being NTLDR is text based and Boot Camp is graphically based.
     
  6. hockeymonkey83 thread starter macrumors member

    hockeymonkey83

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    #6
    i just thought that it was funny that they are showing off this great new beutiful os with it if the boot menu
     
  7. dllavaneras macrumors 68000

    dllavaneras

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    Caracas, Venezuela
    #7
    That makes two of us, Cassie :) I'd also like to know what it says. Maybe they just traded the blue screen of death for a black one, thus avoiding the hassle of learning a new acronym and keeping BSOD :D

    EDIT: Darn, people on these forums write fast! I still liked my idea better than a boot menu though :)
     
  8. hockeymonkey83 thread starter macrumors member

    hockeymonkey83

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    #8
    plus what is the point, in boot camp you can chose between OS X and XP this only has one option an not even a safe mode, plus i remember that in xp it had a timer so if you didnt chose anything it would load up default, this was constant
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Is that an all-in-one computer, or just a monitor with some extra bling on it? What does it look like from the side?
     
  10. Bobdude161 macrumors 65816

    Bobdude161

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Location:
    N'Albany, Indiana
    #10
  11. irmongoose macrumors 68030

    irmongoose

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Location:
    Sometimes Tokyo, sometimes California
    #11
    Yeesh. Talk about lack of design sense. Both the OS and the machine.



    irmongoose
     
  12. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #12
    Thank you for the link -- yeah, when you look at it from the front, it isn't nearly as pretty as my iMac. When you look at it from all angles, it isn't even pretty. ;)
     
  13. Father Jack macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #13
    I THINK THE EXPRESSION "A PILE OF CRAP" SUMS IT UP MUCH BETTER



    FJ :)
     
  14. biturbomunkie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    Location:
    cali
    #14
    that's probably the screen for selecting an OS.

    i saw one of those the other day at BB before vista was released. my impression was actually quite positive. while the HP doesn't look as elegant as an imac, the vista machine is quite fancy - touch screen, a space for a photo printer, a space for wireless KB and mouse, TV, PVR, an easily-accessible drive bay for additional storage, etc.

    would i buy one? probably not... :D
     
  15. jamesW135 macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
  16. elppa macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #16
    Look at that remote control.

    How many buttons are there!*

    You'd need a PhD to operate the thing.

    * About 50 is the answer.
     
  17. xaustinx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
  18. Jasonbot macrumors 68020

    Jasonbot

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Rainbow Nation RSA
    #18
    Thats only to figure on/off buttons. For the rest you need to be a windows user :eek:
     
  19. Teh Don Ditty macrumors G4

    Teh Don Ditty

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Location:
    Maryland
    #19
    Is it me or do I find humor in the fact that every PC manufacturer has to say Genuine Microsoft Windows Vista blah blah included?

    Like they're gonna sell you a pirated copy with virii and pr0n on it.
     
  20. Zwhaler macrumors 603

    Zwhaler

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    #20
    Lol this reminds me, I was at Costco the other day and I was curious at how easy it was to crash a PC with Vista. So I clicked in the Internet Explorer about 15 times and then tried Flip 3D and the whole thing froze up :D
     

Share This Page