how big is your...internet connection?

Discussion in 'Community' started by homerjward, Sep 22, 2004.

  1. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #1
    i was perusing the extensions in firefox available for download and ran across "bandwidth tester." my connection from sbc is officially 1.5mbps and im pretty close to the phone company, but it doesn't feel that fast. i downloaded the extension and was surprised to find it ranged from 1.05. to 1.28 depending on the test (about 10 tests in the course of an hour). so my question to yall is: what type of connection do you have, what speed is it officially, and what is it "real world?" btw, this is on a laptop accessing the connection through a 2wire router and a microsoft 802.11b adapter. ive been having severe issues with the connection ever since my latest reinstall this weekend -- it drops out about once every 2-3 minutes and i have to spend 15 seconds reconnecting.. :(
     
  2. SiliconAddict macrumors 603

    SiliconAddict

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    Answer: Never big enough. :D
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    Mine is sold as 3Mbit, but actually connects at 3.2Mbit :D
     
  4. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
  5. Mudbug Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #5
    at home (Time Warner Cable - Road Runner - standard home package):
    (test from here - used the 3 available freebie options)
     

    Attached Files:

  6. FuzzyBallz macrumors 6502a

    FuzzyBallz

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Location:
    Home of Al-Qaida
    #6
    Man, I'm getting ripped off. I signed up for 3MB/256KB. Bastards.

    Speakeasy
    2004-09-23 02:57:57 EST: 2131 / 172
    Your download speed : 2182875 bps, or 2131 kbps.
    A 266.4 KB/sec transfer rate.
    Your upload speed : 176247 bps, or 172 kbps.

    MegaPath
    2004-09-23 02:54:56 EST: 2359 / 113
    Your download speed : 2415724 bps, or 2359 kbps.
    A 294.8 KB/sec transfer rate.
    Your upload speed : 116380 bps, or 113 kbps.

    LinkLine
    2004-09-23 02:59:01 EST: 2777 / 148
    Your download speed : 2843804 bps, or 2777 kbps.
    A 347.1 KB/sec transfer rate.
    Your upload speed : 152380 bps, or 148 kbps
     
  7. AmigoMac macrumors 68020

    AmigoMac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Location:
    l'Allemagne
  8. BakedBeans macrumors 68040

    BakedBeans

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Location:
    What's Your Favorite Posish
    #9
    abou 680 kbps... ive got ntl 750kbps pack... is that normal or should i phone up and scream at them..
     
  9. Macs R Us macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Location:
    Here on My Mac(s) in my house in the USA!
    #10
    The internet can never be fast enogh.

    Mine is:
    768kps

    The connection is about the same as the estiment.
     
  10. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #11
    Why would anyone want to go faster than 2400bps? Everything will just scroll off the screen faster than you can read it.
     
  11. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #12
    it is normal; the difference is called "tcp overhead"
     
  12. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #13
    It's not about downloading webpages, it's about downloading files, and fast!
     
  13. iMeowbot macrumors G3

    iMeowbot

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    #14
    But at 2400, I can fill up a whole disk in less than 10 minutes!!
     
  14. virividox macrumors 601

    virividox

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2003
    Location:
    Manila - Nottingham - Philadelphia - Santa Barbar
    #15
    uni connection

    but they blocked a crap load of stuff :(
     
  15. Capt Underpants macrumors 68030

    Capt Underpants

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Location:
    Austin, Texas
    #16
    I pay for 384 up and 3000 down, but I only get 340 up and 1000 down. :confused:
     
  16. homerjward thread starter macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #17
    right, there's no ascii porn :eek:
     
  17. homerjward thread starter macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #18
    it really is "twice as fast as sbc's standard package"
     
  18. JFreak macrumors 68040

    JFreak

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    Tampere, Finland
    #19
    now there has to be something wrong with your connection - call the company and ask them if there's a problem...
     
  19. TDM21 macrumors 6502a

    TDM21

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    #20
    i love my connection ever since I moved to school.

    I get on average 3mbit/s download and 2.6mbit/sec on upload. It is so much better then the 26.4 dial-up connection I have at home.
     
  20. hcuar macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #21
    2004-09-23 10:05:44 EST: 4035 / 494
    Your download speed : 4132036 bps, or 4035 kbps.
    A 504.3 KB/sec transfer rate.
    Your upload speed : 506578 bps, or 494 kbps.

    Cox Cable in Phoenix.
     
  21. MoparShaha macrumors 68000

    MoparShaha

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #22
    Officially, it's 384 Kbs, but since the phone switching building is two blocks away, I get 1 Mbs.
     
  22. MattG macrumors 68040

    MattG

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Fletcher, NC
    #23
    2.5Mbit Comcast cable connection...every time I've tested it, it's been pretty close to that, sometimes over.
     
  23. makisushi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #24
    I average about 2700kpbs down and 240 kbps up.
    The service I have is 3mbit down and 256kbps up.
    I have Adelphia Cable.

    I think that is more speed than I need. It is certainly fast enough for Athena Sword!
     
  24. makisushi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Location:
    Northern VA
    #25

    could be a problem with your router. You definately need to get with tech support on this one.
     

Share This Page