How can Finder searches only bring up file names that match the term in Lion?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by oxband, May 6, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #1
    I switched to Lion and still feel like i dont understand the Finder. It's annoying.

    The one thing i really want to do is simply enter a term in the search box and have only appear files whose names contain what i've written. How can i change Finder so it does that?
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    Click this:
    ScreenCap 2012-05-07 at Mon, May 7,2.01.46 AM .PNG
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #3
    i dont have the contents/file name option in my window. i looked in preferences and didnt see how i can add it. how can i?
     
  4. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #4
    I'm surprised it's not there, but you can add that criteria another way:
    ScreenCap 2012-05-07 at Mon, May 7,2.12.55 AM .PNG
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    #5
    I can add it to a search but I want it there so i dont need to keep adding it every time. That is odd that you have it and i dont. it must be some preference click away!
     
  6. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    I'm on Snow Leopard. I hadn't noticed that they removed that in Lion.
     
  7. macrumors P6

    Weaselboy

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #7
    Just use the free app iFileX. It will find what you want and is much easier to use than Finder.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Mal
    macrumors 603

    Mal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Orlando
    #8
    Easier way: as you type the search into the Finder search bar, a small dropdown menu will appear offering to search "Filenames include ...". Just hit the down arrow to select it and you'll only get filename results.

    [​IMG]

    Edit: Sorry for the weird look, it has a shadow on that dropdown in the Finder, so it's not so indistinct. For some reason the screenshot lost that.

    jW
     
  9. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
  10. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #10
    Thanks for that! I couldn't imagine them removing that capability. Just when you learn your way around software, the developer changes something! Sometimes, it's better to just leave it the way it was!
     

Share This Page