How can I bypass "Connect to iTunes" screen?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by rda990, Jun 19, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #1
    I just bought an iPhone 3G,i saw that it still had contacts on the phone so i decided to "Format/Erase" the whole thing from the Settings menu (Option that takes about "1 hour" to complete).When it was done,it booted up and asked me to insert a sim,thats when i knew i screwed up.I dont have AT&T/AT&T sim card.I have a couple of Nextel/Boost sims but non of them worked -_-.Is there a software way to bypass this? I heard of "hacktivate" but i don't think i can jailbreak it because of the firmware.If i bought a prepaid gophone from at&t and put it in there would it work/take me to the home screen??What if i borrow a freinds sim card and just put it in and take it out?Also to the jailbreaking since it is stuck at the "Connect to iTunes" screen,i cant check the baseband but im sure the firmware is 3.1.3.So i downloaded a program called "The Firmware Umbrella" that tells me all the info (Baseband/firmware) and turns out im on firmware 3.1.3 (7E18) and BaseBand "05.12.01 - 6.4_M3S2". After searching i THINK there is not yet a jailbreak :( but is there a way to bypass the screen to make it functional without the need of a "sim"?
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #2
    if you have a mac use pwnage tool to hacktivate the device
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #3
    Have Windows :(
     
  4. macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #4
    Yu can jailbreak and hacktivate using Redsn0w 0.9.4. That will solve your problems. You can then unlock using blacksn0w. I suggest an iClarified tutorial.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #5
    I know that but I thought you couldn't jailbreak a 3.1.3FW 05.12.01BB iPhone?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #6
    YO! IT WORKED! DAMN! Wait up...i thought it couldn't be hacked? the 3.1.3FW 05.12.01BB type iPhones yet?
     
  7. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    I think its only the 3gs 3.1.3 that has this problem
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #8
    Oh i think it can be JAILBROKEN but not UNLOCKED as i have Cydia right now but when i install blackra1n it always gives me and error.
     

Share This Page