How can I change what the "About this Mac" box says?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by GreyFox1221, Jan 13, 2007.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    #1
    I saw someone do this as a joke and I was wondering how I can do it.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    ®îçhå®?

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #2
    Go into system > library > core services > loginwindow > show pakage contents (right click) > contents > Resources > English.lproj > AboutThisMac.strings

    From in here, you can change most things. Change the bottom one like ""ABOUT_BOX_SINGLE_PROCESSOR_L3CACHE_FORMAT"" to whatever text you want
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    How

    Where is this library? and system? Im on a new MBP and i want to change the box from saying 2.56 GHz to 2.8.
    HELP
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    #5
    This thread need to be closed, this can lead to someone getting ripped off.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #6
    Crap ... man do I feel gullible. I didn't even think about someone use this for evil. Gonna edit out my reply...
     
  7. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #7
    This would only be a problem if the System Profiler used the same strings to display its information.
     
  8. macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #8
    But that is assuming someone checking out a machine knows about the system profiler too-- if someone was just showing a system to a potential buyer that was new to Macs, they might just pop up the "About This Mac" window to show them the "spec". Just another way to look at it!;)
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #9

    Just because someone can use some information in a malicious manner doesn't mean that access to that information should be limited.
     
  10. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #10
    Hey, buddy... wanna buy a Mac Pro? :D
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #11
    Wow, 96gb of Ram. :eek: that computer must be able to things before you even think of it...
     
  12. macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #12
    So if the "About this Mac" was altered, would the system profiler be correct?
     
  13. macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #13
    Like type verbs? ;)
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    jonbravo77

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #14
    Possibly :eek:
     
  15. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #15
    Assuming it generates its information in realtime and not from some system variables stored in a file or database, yes. If not then it too would be suceptible to the same trick.
     
  16. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #16
    Any way to edit the Mac OSx and Copyright info? I want to fool ppl i got leopard and make copyright 2009 also after change name of Mac OSX :D

    This is what I have so far.

    *Edit Got logo to work. Had to reboot. Its abit choppy but fixing it up
     

    Attached Files:

  17. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #17
    what app?

    which application do i use to open AboutThisMac.strings?
     
  18. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Location:
    New York
    #18
    xcode. You need mac/iphone dev kit. Free from install dvd of leopard and from apple.com dev section.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Location:
    Port Pirie, South Australia
    #19
    Any text editor will do, though it's much easier using Xcode.
     
  20. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
  21. macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #21
    wow....i just laughed very hard :D
     
  22. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #22
    About this mac - Yosemite

    Is there a way to modify 'About this mac' on Yosemite? I managed to modify the memory, but i would like to modify the processor and graphics as well.. anyone knows? :)
     
  23. macrumors 601

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #23
    After all, if you want to build a bomb, you can find the instructions on the internet. But, if you have knowledge that could be used for nefarious purposes, and therefore don't want to share it, that's up to you, and no one else.
     
  24. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    #24
    I don't want to use it for stuff like that. It's just cool, to have it saying xeon rather than intel core 2 duo for example.. either way, the real specs can be seen on the first page of system profiler.. therefore, it could not be sold as a better machine.. i would just like to modify the first about this mac window, that pops up.
     

Share This Page