How can I create ringtones for my Razr V3?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by netdog, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. netdog macrumors 603

    netdog

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #1
    What format do the files need to be in? How do I add them to my phone? I would really like to make my own ringtones.
     
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    You can put MP3s at least on there.. and use a bluetooth enabled Mac (or PC) to get them onto your phone. At least that's how I do it.
     
  3. Hytower77 macrumors regular

    Hytower77

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Location:
    Some random place outside of Fort Worth, TX
    #3
    Yeah, using Bluetooth is the easiest way to get them there. If you want to edit the mp3 down, you can do that is QuickTime Pro and then export as a .wav then convert back to mp3.

    I may do this the hard way, I use Audacity to convert from .wav to mp3. QuickTime Pro won't export in mp3.
     
  4. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #4
    I used Garageband to cut the mp3 into the segment I wanted, imported it into iTunes and used iTunes to convert it down to settings required (can't remember what they were but it was 48kbps I think) and the transferred it to my phone via Bluetooth.

    Pretty simple really. I have a Motorola L6 which is just the non-flip version of your V3 so it should work much the same.
     
  5. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    I use Audacity too but I'm disappointed in the quality loss (I know, lossy (mp3) -> lossy (wav) -> lossy (mp3)), I'll give GB a try. Thanks Chundles.
     
  6. Dopeyman macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Los Angeles!
    #6
  7. quigleybc macrumors 68030

    quigleybc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Location:
    Beautiful Vancouver British Columbia, Canada
    #7
    Simple

    find a song you like, or a sound

    put it in iTunes,

    change the options for the song beginning and end times, get info>options

    example

    Beginning 0:00
    End 0:40

    click, Advanced>convert selection to MP3

    this will create a new, 40 second Mp3 version of your song/sound

    Drag the new 40 second song to your desktop

    Bluetooth it or USB it to your V3, and on the phone select, apply as ringtone...

    Done
    and
    Done
     
  8. pilotError macrumors 68020

    pilotError

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Location:
    Long Island
    #8
    I use audacity too, I don't convert between formats. Just load the MP3, do the start and end selection and export selection. Unless I'm missing something, it never becomes a wav file (unless it converts to wav on the import side).

    I just downloaded a few clips to my wifes Razr.

    Mike...
     
  9. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    Perhaps because I haven't paid for Audacity?
    When I export I can only export to wav.
    Anyway, I'll try the other linked method now..
     
  10. jaxstate macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    #10
    Download audiohijack. Record 30 clips of any song you choose. Move to your celly, and enjoy.

    I made like 30 ringtones this way. Go to iTunes, record the free preview. You have over their entire library to choose from.
     
  11. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #11
    I just got a V3i and I'm new to cell phones. I know how to shorten an MP3 and all that, but the manual is quite lax on ringtones. Where do I place the file, and what am I doing with it on the phone? Thanks :eek:
     
  12. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #13
    Well if it's via bluetooth and the Mac, there's only one place that you (should) obviously put sounds/ringtones/etc.. and that's in the folder labeled (i believe) "sounds", or "music", or something equally obvious. Just look and you'll find it.
     
  13. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #14
    Yes, it is. However, on the phone. I'm not seeing an Apply As Ringtone.
     
  14. ccourt4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    #15
    Ya but.....

    So all the instructions have been good so far except that when I try to send files through bluetooth to my razr V3m I get a message saying "device does not have the necessary services." What the hell does that mean and how do I fix it?

    Thanks
     
  15. Timepass macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    #16

    you might need to set it to a low quility convert mp3. I dont know since I cannt do it on my phone (hoping the phone I get in a week can though. I have to play around with it and see what I can do.)
     
  16. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #17
    I've been attempting this for the past month and I've come to the conclusion that this is somehow blocked by Telus. I've read through countless forums and they have all lead me to this conclusion.

    So...are you on Telus?
     
  17. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #18
    Nope, I'm on Rogers. Weird.
     
  18. konfuzion macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #19
    The v3 can only play MP3 64kbps Mono. I use boot camp to run Cool Edit Pro 2 to choose the clip and downconvert. Then I use the USB cable (get it off ebay, or maybe your camera uses the same cable).
     
  19. rickvanr macrumors 68040

    rickvanr

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2002
    Location:
    Brockville
    #20
    I've figured it out.

    Upload the song to
    Path: /audio/ (the phone's built in memory) it will then show up in the ringtones list.

    If you upload it to the SD card the phone will not see it.
     
  20. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #21
    Oooh shame on you, you got me so excited. It made no difference though, the same thing happens whether I upload it to Ringtones or Audio. Except when I upload it to ringtones it just shows up on the phone, but not the list on the computer.
     
  21. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #22
    I used 48kbps mono and it worked just fine. Earlier ones at higher bit rates didn't.

    GarageBand and iTunes can do the whole thing.
     
  22. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #23
    I've tried that amongst various other settings. I feel like the only person in the world that can't get it to work.

    This is driving me crazy. :(
     
  23. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #24
    OK, just gave it another go, my settings were a bit off before, here they are:

    48kbps
    Stereo
    22.050kHz sample rate

    Once the conversion is done, select the song in iTunes and right click -> show song file. Drag the file to the desktop. Then click on the bluetooth icon in the menu bar and select Send File... then just follow the instructions from there, pointing the browser to the file on your desktop.

    For some reason when I dragged the file right from the iTunes library it would say "File is corrupt" when it transferred to the phone but when I used the file from the Finder it worked just fine.
     
  24. killuminati macrumors 68020

    killuminati

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    #25
    That is EXACTLY what I've been doing. Sounds like I wrote those instructions, haha.

    I'm thinking about giving up on this and just being content with the "ring ring". I've just wasted way too many hours on this when I could have been doing something productive like...reading the new posts.

    Thanks anyways Chundles. :)
     

Share This Page