How can I delete specific Time Machine backups?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by c073186, Oct 4, 2009.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #1
    My Time Machine backups are getting rather large and I really don't need backups dating back six months. Is there a way to go in and delete certain dates?
     
  2. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #2
    As soon as the parition fills, Time Machine will start deleting old backups to make room for new backups. Fooling around with the time machine partiton directly is a good way to have a problem.
     
  3. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    somerset, england.
    #3
    I recently dragged the oldest backups into the trash and caused chaos, I had to use apple care for the first time and had to start all over again as i had trashed the first backup and blocked up the trash!!
    I think there is a proper option for doing this but i am not the person to tell you about it!!!!!!
     
  4. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    The proper option is to just let Time Machine take care of itself. If you want free space on an external disk then you should have partitioned it.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    #5
    Download MacPilot or Onyx- both have a "force empty trash" option which does just that even with multiple time machine backups in the trash. I saved loads of disk space this way
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Location:
    somerset, england.
    #6
    Thats interesting, I tried something called super empty trash and then could not get rid of that either.
    The chap i spoke to at apple care explianed that there is one proper backup and the rest are aliases, I had thrashed the proper one and could not restore it??. I even went into terminal and very carefully typed in a sudo command:eek: that didn't work. I tell you i was stumped:confused:
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #7
    Can you partition a Time Capsule?
     
  8. macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
    You can, but you have to take the hard disk out of the capsule and mount it in an external enclosure.
     
  9. Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    #9
    Haha I did this too. DON’T do that!

    Like people said, Time Machine will delete your oldest backups when it needs the space. But if you’re using the HD for other things than just Time Machine, you might want to manually delete some backups to make space.

    Despite what people are saying, there is a simple and proper way to do it. Enter Time Machine, go to the backup you want to delete, click the action button (this guy Screen shot 2009-10-06 at 6.23.22 PM.png ), and click “Delete Backup”. You’ll just have to type in your admin password then. So simple, it’s easy to miss.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    #10
    Yeah I did eventually find that ... only problem is that it is rather time consuming to have to individually delete 60 backups...
     
  11. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    #11
    Uh boy...

    Dude, you were given a solution. A solution 999/1000 people would never need because of the inherent protection TM provides by actually "keeping" its backups. (what a novel idea).

    And now you are complaining because you have to type and click your mouse for a few minutes? Unbelievable.
     

Share This Page