How can I get Hardware acceleration in Halo?

Discussion in 'Games' started by G5Unit, Sep 25, 2005.

  1. G5Unit macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #1
    How can I get Hardware acceleration in Halo? It's greyed out. I have a PowerMac G5 with an X800XT. Regular biult in sound card.
     
  2. RobHague macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    #2
    Hardware Accelerated what? graphics? or are you talking about Sound there.
     
  3. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #3
    Sound sorry.
     
  4. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #4
    Is there actually any Mac soundcards that support hardware acceleration? There's barely any for the PC.
     
  5. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #5
    the built-in sound card isn't a hardware soundcard. it's integrated into the logic board and uses the cpu for power. the m-audio revolution, and other pci sound cards should give you hardware acceleration, as would a firewire/usb soundcard.
     
  6. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #6
    My friend sound card sucks and it's intergrated into the logic board. PC and he gets hardware acceleration.
     
  7. dubbz macrumors 68020

    dubbz

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    Alta, Norway
    #7
    Sorry. Was thinking of something else.
     
  8. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #8
    M-Audio's Revolution 5.1 and 7.1 PCI cards are the only PCI audio cards I know of for the Mac.

    However, I don't expect either cards would bring up hardware audio acceleration menu because a) sound card support on the Mac is quite lacking (a handful of games support it) and b) if it's just for offloading the sound processes from the CPU to the audio card, I doubt it's going to make that much of a performance boost.
     
  9. G5Unit thread starter macrumors 68020

    G5Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2005
    Location:
    I'm calling the cops
    #9
    Yeh but you can turn on enviromental sound if you have it enabled and that maks everthing creepy in the game.
     
  10. snkTab macrumors 6502a

    snkTab

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #10
    Yeah, but that's one of the things that gets old in 10 minutes. And then you get buyers remorse.
     

Share This Page