How can I lock my desktop?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by goodtimes5, May 23, 2005.

  1. goodtimes5 macrumors 6502a

    goodtimes5

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #1
    Is there anything out there that can lock my desktop at the press of a hot key?

    I know about DeskShade, but it doesn't work with Tiger. The password gets saved and reappears automatically.

    I know about the password-to-wake, but I want something that can work when the computer is active.
     
  2. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #2
    It's built into Tiger!
    Apps>Utilities>Keychain Access
    Preferences:
    Check "Show Status in Menubar"
    Quit.
    now in menubar - padlock symbol click on and "lock screen".
    See attachments!
     

    Attached Files:

  3. szark macrumors 68030

    szark

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Location:
    Arid-Zone-A
    #3
    I don't know any way to set a hot key, but you can set a screen corner to activate the screensaver with the mouse, and lock it that way.


    ^^ Interesting... didn't know that.
     
  4. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #4
    Call yourself a demi-god :D :p
     
  5. goodtimes5 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    goodtimes5

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #5
    My oh my. And it looks so intimidating too!

    But I can't say the same about the Spectrum screen saver after locking the screen.
     
  6. James Philp macrumors 65816

    James Philp

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Location:
    Oxford/London
    #6
    You like? There are SO many bits in Tiger yet to be discovered!
    Try my Tiger Top Tip for example!
     
  7. mcs37 macrumors regular

    mcs37

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    Is there a way to do this with a keyboard shortcut? I'm quite used to the Windows-L key on windows stations, and I was desperately hoping Tiger would introduce a similar Command-L key to lock the screen immediately. Come on Mac, all other operating systems provide this! And it can't be terribly difficult to implement. The lock button/Lock icon is nice I suppose, but it's not enabled by default apparently and you can't access it with a keyboard shortcut.

    wtf, mates?
     
  8. swheeler macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #8
    I'm pretty sure there's a way to assighn a keyboard shortcut to any menu item. Don't remember whether its built in or 3rd party though.
     
  9. alex_ant macrumors 68020

    alex_ant

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Location:
    All up in your bidness
    #9
    Stop looking at porn at work. Problem solved
     
  10. goodtimes5 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    goodtimes5

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #10
    This coming from the man who entered his location as "inside your mom."
     
  11. reh macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Location:
    Arkansas
    #11
    Yes, use the app FUSkey to do it. You set a key combo (whatever you want, I use command-shift-L) to activate the fast user switching login screen. I've got the app on my webspace since it seems to have gone MIA.

    http://www.herskal.com/apps/fuskey.zip
     
  12. Mechcozmo macrumors 603

    Mechcozmo

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    #12
    Actually, it would be Apple.

    Apple is a company that has the products Macintosh OS X, iPod, PowerBook, iBook, etc.
     
  13. mcs37 macrumors regular

    mcs37

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #13
    Actually it would be Mac. See the parallelism between "come on Mac" and "other operating systems"? Saying "Come on Apple, all other operating systems" would be faulty parallelism. Another correct example is "Come on Microsoft, Apple has been doing this for years."

    QED, bitch
     
  14. Flying Llama macrumors 6502a

    Flying Llama

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #14
    You can't talk to software... you're talking to Apple so that they change it. I agree with Mechcozmo. :eek:
    Let's not start a flame war on this.

    llama
     

Share This Page