How can I Make an Automator App useful in Windows?

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Shake 'n' Bake, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #1
    Not sure if this is the right place or if anyone would know this, but...

    I wrote a great Automator app that syncs my iTunes library with my server. I need this app or something similar on Windows. Is there an easy way to make a Windows version of an Automator app?

    Thanks for your help!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    #2
    No, you'll have to re-implement it from scratch.
     
  3. macrumors 603

    Cromulent

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Location:
    The Land of Hope and Glory
    #3
    Automator and the underlying technology (Applescript) is Mac OS X only.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    When you say it "syncs" it, what is it actually doing?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #5
    I moved my library to a server. When one computer makes a change, it doesn't show up on the others. The Automator app checks the the iTunes Music folder on the server for audio files that have been modified in the last week. If it finds some that aren't listed in my instance of iTunes, it adds the songs to the list.

    Thanks. I kinda figured that was the case.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68020

    Shake 'n' Bake

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Location:
    Albany
    #6
    How can I make a plugin for iTunes for OS X? Right now, I run the app through the script menubar item. It is easy enough, but would be better if it was in iTunes.
     

Share This Page