How can i make sure windows compression is enabled?

Discussion in 'Mac Help/Tips' started by sevag1, Apr 16, 2002.

  1. sevag1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
  2. eyelikeart Moderator emeritus

    eyelikeart

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Location:
    Metairie, LA
  3. Rower_CPU Moderator emeritus

    Rower_CPU

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #3
    As far as I know Apple enabled it by default with 10.1.3...

    MacAddict had an article recently on doing this through the Terminal...I didn't find it online...you might want to dig around...
     
  4. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #4
    Well...

    Take your Windows CD-ROM and a rock, hammer or other blunt object. Use the object to repeatedly smash the CD-ROM into a more compressed form. This prevents accidental usage and its unfortunate consequences.

    ...

    Seriously though. There is a utility available from versiontracker.com that will do this. Go here:

    http://www.versiontracker.com/moreinfo.fcgi?id=12247&db=mac

    Matthew
     
  5. Catfish_Man macrumors 68030

    Catfish_Man

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2001
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #5
    Window compression...

    ...is on by default in 10.1.3 or later. However, if you still want to check it. You can use QuartzDebug in the developer tools. Open it up, display the list of windows (it's in a menu), anything with a 'c' is compressed.
     
  6. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
    #6
    Re: Well...

    yep thats the way
    then get sledgehammer and smash your beige or black BOX
    and then slap yourself
     

Share This Page