How can i open my windows in BOOTCAMP?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by stuart2102, May 2, 2012.

  1. macrumors regular

    stuart2102

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #1
    How can i open my windows in BOOTCAMP? its been more than 7months since i access windows on bootcamp by my imac, im working all the time on my mac OS, but sometimes i want to use also my windows that was installed at bootcamp, but recently when i try to open my windows on holding shift key, my imac will not prompt me anymore for options to choise either mac or windows os, how would i get back again to my windows thru bootcamp? if i delete my partation on bootcamp the empty disk space should be or can be used for mac os?
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    That's because it's the Option/alt key, not the Shift key.

    Boot Camp 4.0, OS X Lion: Frequently asked questions
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #3
    You need to hold the "option" key, not the shift key.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    stuart2102

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #4
    ohhh i forgot its Option/alt key wheeew thats why hehe but if my windows os is out of date can i be still open it?

    ----------

    Thanks for this anwers GGJstudio...i wonder hehe thats what what happen if i seldom access my bootcamp il forgotten what key im i going to press anyway i try this later thanks again...


    P/S: one more thing if i delete my partation on boothcamp can i used it for mac os? and how?
     
  5. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #5
    What do you mean "out of date"? If you're referring to Windows updates, you should still be able to boot into Windows just fine. Just run whatever updates are required after you boot into Windows.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors regular

    stuart2102

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #6
    i mean i think expired already coz its only a non license OS that i install since im not using it often but yes, i try it now to access my windows os my imac crush hahaha many times i keep trying but it always crush tks tks tks so bad...do u have an idea what happen?
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    #7
    You don't provide enough detail for anyone to help you. I would suggest deleting your Bootcamp partition and starting over with a fresh installation of Windows.

    Windows will expire in 30 days if you don't activate it. After that you can't update it anymore, and certain Microsoft software will not run/install.
     
  8. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #8
    You could buy a legit copy of windows and start over.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Connecticut
    #9
    And if you do, know that if you're running Lion, you can only use Windows 7. Windows XP's and Vista's installers do not work in Lion's version of Bootcamp. Interestingly, if you have XP installed under an older Mac OS and upgrade to Lion, it will still work. Just hope that you don't have to reinstall Windows at a later date.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #10
    I don't even know why anyone would want to use vista or XP. Makes me cringe thinking about those OS's.:eek:
     
  11. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #11
    Probably because there are still some ancient applications that only work on XP or Vista. Just like PPC apps/Rosetta, there are still some around and the developers may have dropped out but the apps are still important in limited markets.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors regular

    stuart2102

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #12
    Thanks guys for the information yeah thats my prospect coz since its only 30 days for like a trial version that is why i cant open anymore my windows on bootcamp
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #13
    Open bootcamp on Mac

    For some reasons I can't open Windows when pressing the opt key at start-up. Other than pressing the opt key, is there any way to open windows on a Mac? Thanks
     
  14. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #14
    XP was ok for gaming. Vista was some kind of unholy scourge out of Redmond.
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Pharmscott

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #15
    Yes. Go to System Preferences and select Startup Disk. Then select the one you want and click Restart.
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #16
    Thanks for the reply. :) If I select Bootcamp as the startup, how do I change back to Mac as the start up later on while on Window?
     
  17. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #17
    Via the Bootcamp application in Windows, or just manually hold ALT while booting up the computer (in the time frame before the grey Apple usually pops up) and boot into OS X and change it there.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #18
    For some reasons my computer doesn't work on holding the "option" key during start-up to choose between bootcamp and Apple. That's why I need to do it manually. Where can I find Bootcamp application via Windows? Thanks for helping.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #19
    I've yet to see any application that will run on XP, but not on 7.

    Windows 7 includes a "Windows XP" mode, but I'm not sure if it's only the Professional version that has it.
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    #20
    I use Mac and have installed Bootcamp on my computer. Generally to choose between Apple and Windows one needs to hold down the "option" button during the start-up of the computer. However, my computer has a malfunction and hold down of the "option" key doesn't work. When I'm in Apple, I can go to "System Preference" > "startup Disk" to switch my system to Bootcamp at start up. My question is: Once I am in Windows and I want to go back to Apple, what shall I do? Someone has suggested that I can do that via the Bootcamp in Windows... but exactly what does that mean? Could someone show me step-by-step. Thanks
     
  21. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    #21
    What I know about the Bootcamp Application in Windows:

    I have only used bootcamp briefly twice. Once with XP on Leopard and once with Windows 7 on Snow Leopard. Both times, after the Windows installation was complete, I had to insert the OS X OS-DVD to install drivers for the windows partition in windows, this installed drivers and also a "Bootcamp Application" that shows up as an always running application in the right down corner of the "windows dock", opening that should have an option for picking startup disk. Not sure if this is always the case.
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Pharmscott

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    #22
    There is a little icon in the system tray in Windows (bottom right) that you can click and choose the startup disk. It's very similar to the Mac Settings feature. As soon as you open it, you'll get it.
     
  23. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #23
    Are you using a new aluminium chiclet keyboard with an older iMac? If so, that's your problem - different firmware. The keyboard won't be recognised until the machine has fully booted. If you can, use the keyboard that came with your iMac - or if you have an Apple remote, use that instead (hold the menu button while booting).
     

Share This Page