How can I protect my Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jrv3034, Jan 25, 2005.

1. jrv3034 macrumors 6502a

Hello, all. I was surfing on another forum, and someone's signature showed a little graphic with my router's IP address, ISP, and browser programs (see below).

Should I be concerned? Am I vulnerable in some way? The OSX firewall is turned on, and I'm connected to a wireless router that's password protected. Is that not enough? Any thoughts and suggestions are welcome.

Attached Files:

2. tubedogg macrumors regular

Every single website you visit has access to all that information and more - that is how the internet works. The site you are visiting must know your IP address to know where to send the page; determining the ISP is a simple database check of the IP address. Your browser (user agent) is passed with every page view as well.

3. TheSith macrumors regular

I would not worry about it.

I am an administrator on a fansite discussion community and we don't allow those images in peoples' signatures at all. Not because they are particularly dangerous, but because people panic about such private information being displayed to them on a public board.

Okay, so maybe an IP isn't the most dangerous thing to post but things like that are just unneeded.

Don't worry, I see those quite often and you should be perfectly fine.

4. aswitcher macrumors 603

aswitcher

I am hoping Tiger gives us a better firewall / better control and monitoring of internet services, but even then - as discussed by others - all this info is available de to the way the TCP/IP works.

5. toezter macrumors regular

toezter

if you're that "anal" about it.

http://tor.eff.org/

It's an internet anonymizer that works with any program that supports proxies. In a nutshell, it allows you to request information over the internet without exposing your IP or location.

Advantages of using this could be: