How can I set a hostname for my iPhone 5?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by ahmadka, Feb 22, 2013.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #1
    Hi guys ... I have an iPhone 5 (jailbroken and at v6.1 firmware), and I want to set the hostname for it, so that whenever I connect to a Wifi network, I can access the phone using its hostname.

    Right now by default, the hostname is not set to anything, so whenever I have to access my iPhone from another machine, I have to manually go into the iPhone's Wifi settings and see what the current IP is. This is very silly and lethargic as I have to do this many times daily :/

    So is there any way I can set the hostname on my iPhone to something (e.g. AHMADKASIPHONE), so that I can just use that hostname to connect to my iPhone ? I read somewhere that I can configure the DHCP settings and set the hostname in 'Client ID' there, but this doesn't seem to work for me :/

    Any other way ? Maybe a jailbreak tweak ?
     
  2. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    #2
    This is just the name of your device, you can set it itunes or even possibly in settings.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #3
    I have set the name of my phone in iTunes, but still it doesn't register with my router. The pictures explain themselves:

    iTunes:

    [​IMG]

    Router:

    [​IMG]

    Ping Result:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    #4
    Interesting, I just noticed all of my devices are not registering as well... 1 iPhone and 1 iPad are and 1 iPhone ins't... all running iOS 6.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    #5
    Can you check the IP settings on all 3 devices and see if any of them have a Client ID set ? Or anything else which might answer this question ?
     

Share This Page