How can I tell if Rosetta is running?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vgoklani, Feb 27, 2006.

  1. vgoklani macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #1
    Hi,

    I just got a 2GHZ macbook pro - how can I tell if Rosetta is running?
     
  2. reberto macrumors 65816

    reberto

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2005
    #2
    its always running
     
  3. vgoklani thread starter macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #3
    I thought it only runs if you are running legacy (ie: powerpc compiled) software?
     
  4. ChrisBrightwell macrumors 68020

    ChrisBrightwell

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #4
    Did you try running Activity Monitor (found in /Applications/Utilities)?
     
  5. vgoklani thread starter macrumors regular

    vgoklani

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2004
    #5
    of course; does it actually say rosetta, i can't find it anywhere?
     
  6. bodeh6 macrumors 6502a

    bodeh6

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    #6
    You can see if a program is using Rosetta buy doing Apple Key+I for the information tab and under the "Kind" it will tell you if it is Universal or PowerPC. If it is PowerPC then it is going to run under Rosetta naturally.
     
  7. shrimpdesign macrumors 6502a

    shrimpdesign

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    #7
    If you open Activity Monitor, it'll tell you what processses are Intel, and which are PPC.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Superdrive macrumors 6502a

    Superdrive

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    #8
    I thought the beauty of Rosetta was that you would never know or have to know that it was running. I think its an on the fly emulation not a process, so if you aren't running PPC binaries, you aren't using Rosetta.
     
  9. _bnkr612 macrumors 6502a

    _bnkr612

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    #9
    If it works, why care?

    Send it my way, I'll check for you.
     
  10. macOSX-tastic macrumors 6502a

    macOSX-tastic

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Location:
    At the Airport. UK
    #10
    i agree with everyone else, i think you arent supposed to see it as a physical app....its running in the background, like coreimage and OpenGL.

    S
     
  11. jamesW135 macrumors 6502a

    jamesW135

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    #11
    Your not suppose to know. It just works - JOBS
     
  12. Encom macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2006
    #12
    shrimpdesign: I noticed you are running a PPC version of iScrobbler, here's the UB version: http://www.last.fm/forum/24/_/76511

    Also, Rosetta runs only when a program needs it. If you don't run PPC programs, you're not running Rosetta.
     

Share This Page