How can I use my Macbook as a remote keyboard for my iMac.

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by Plazmotech, Dec 8, 2012.

  1. Plazmotech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #1
    Hi, I'm have this setup in my room, where my iMac is on my table, and I'm in bed with my Macbook. I often want to control my remote control my iMac, but I don't need the whole screen. That just lags and is useless, as I often watch movies. Also, I can see the screen perfectly. It is a waist of resources. Can I simply use my Macbook's keyboard and mouse to control my iMac? Thanks :apple:
     
  2. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #2
    Probably not, if you use your Macbook's keyboard the input goes to the Macbook as well as the imac, I think the only way is to use remote desktop.
     
  3. ShinyDren macrumors member

    ShinyDren

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Ambitoysterous, USA
    #3
    Depending on what your needs are, and if you have an iOS device available, there might be other options available.

    I've done some basic interactions using the app HippoRemote LITE.
     
  4. justperry macrumors 604

    justperry

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Location:
    In the core of a black hole.
    #4
    Thanks for that tip man, I have a AppleTV 1 with OS X and sometimes can not connect with ARD.
     
  5. Plazmotech thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    #5
    Dude, thanks! Yes, I do have an iPhone 4. That will work SPLENDIDLY! Thanks
     

Share This Page