How can i wipe windows 8 without a screen?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Orange Furball, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. Orange Furball, Mar 12, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013

    macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #1
    Hello all, i broke my laptop, and sold it on eBay. I had connected it to an external monitor before to click the erase PC option that deletes all user data while keeping Windows 8 on the device (i was thrilled to see this option in windows finally)

    So i did it.

    Monitor went blank. And i cant see the image on the screen. I restarted a few times and all that but i cant get it to come on the screen to verify the wipe.

    Help!!!!!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Location:
    California
    #2
    That is bad times. Have you tried another monitor. My theory is you succeeded in wiping the computer and its missing drivers which is why the screen won't show up. It really sucks you can't tell what's going on. Thank god replacement screens aren't too bad.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #3
    It cant be missing drivers because i used the built in feature to only remove user programs and files not drivers.

    I cant replace the screen because i already sold it and bought another laptop :/
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    spencers

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    #4
    Got access to another laptop/Windows computer? Put the drive in it and reinstall Windows
     
  5. macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #5
    Pull the hard drive out, stick it in an enclosure, plug it into another machine, wipe it, boot from it, install Windows, put it back in the laptop. Result!

    If you didn't encrypt your data I'd recommend zeroing out the drive when you wipe it too so your data can't be recovered.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #6

    How can i do this without disks? Its Windows 8 were talking about, Windows 8 is a diskless world :sly:
     
  7. macrumors 68040

    0dev

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #7
    What media is it on? If you have to rely on an installation partition on the hard drive then it should be easy enough if you boot from that drive on another computer, yeah. Don't wipe the drive if you do it this way though obviously.
     
  8. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Location:
    San Fran
    #8
  9. macrumors 68030

    waloshin

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Location:
    in my world.
    #9
    Take the hard drive out and smash it.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #10
    This will happen soon if i don't figure this out
     
  11. macrumors G3

    roadbloc

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    This. Or at least take it out and shove it in another computer that has a working screen.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #12
    All of my other computers can't boot off of this. I have one more to try but all others failed so far
     
  13. macrumors 65816

    Zombie Acorn

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #13
    Have you tried hooking a keyboard and mouse up and closing the lid after powering on? It might auto default to the external.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #14
    That puts it into sleep mode :/
     
  15. macrumors 65816

    Zombie Acorn

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #15
    Sleep mode is typically a Windows feature, are u powering it all the way off before trying this? Do you get a splash screen?

    I'm talking about hitting power and closing the lid immediately.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #16
    Ill try this now then
     
  17. Orange Furball, Mar 16, 2013
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Orange Furball

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Location:
    Scranton, PA, USA
    #17
    Thank you. My god thank you!!


    Never mind. Cant get past the attempting repairs thing. I went to advanced and then to continue to windows 8. I'm just stuck in a loop. Crap
     

    Attached Files:

Share This Page