How can we use Skype with iPod Touch 1st Gen?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by telepati, Apr 9, 2009.

  1. macrumors regular

    telepati

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Location:
    istanbul
    #1
    Hi, I have a 1st Gen iPod Touch and I want to use Skype. But I dont find any Headphone with Mic. Anyones knows how can I use Skype with 1st Gen iPod Touch?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #2
    You cant the 1st gen touch is not compatible with a mic
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Burlington, MA, USA
    #3
    That's not 100% true. There is a microphone solution that connects to the dock connector that worked with a jailbroken version of Skype. I don't know if it will work with a non-jailbroken touch, though. I don't remember who makes it but there have been threads about it here on MR in the past.
     
  4. macrumors 65816

    fabian9

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #4
    Think it was developed by the guys over at touchmods.com/...

    Fabian
     
  5. afd
    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Location:
    Scotland
    #5
    Maybe when the 3.0 OS comes out in the summer allowing access to the dock connector, someone will bring out a microphone for the first generation touch?
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    gan6660

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    #6
    Doubt it why would a company bring out an accessorie for old tech.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    telepati

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Location:
    istanbul
    #7
    I think very hard to make I found this comment;

    Here is what you need, if..

    a) If you have a 1st Gen Touch, and you are running OS1.x.x,

    Mic: you will need a Mic based on the DIY tutorial from our Wiki.
    VoIP SW: you just need to add one of our Touchmods repositories to installer:

    www.touchmods.org/repo.xml
    http://touchmods.net/rep.xml

    and install Siphon or SIP-VoIP.

    more info in the Wiki or Blog @ www.touchmods.org.

    b) If you have a 1st Gen Touch, and you are running OS2.1

    Mic: AFWK, no Mic is compatible with this technology :(
    VoIP: still you can at least “listen to the other party” if you proceed acc, to point c)

    c) If you have a 1st Gen Touch, and you are running OS2.2,

    Mic: you will need a Mic with a HW key inside. A HW key that is “approved” by apple. Such a mics are: iVoice III from Macally
    VoIP: You will need the latest Siphon form Cydia. Cydia is installed automatically when jailbraking your Touch.

    d) If you have a 2st Gen Touch, and you are running OS2.x,

    Mic: you will need the white apple headset made for the latest iPod devices
    VoIP: jailbreaking exist since Jan.2009, so beside the appStore apps, there is Siphon waiting for you on Cydia.

    To get to know more about Siphon, SIP-VoIP, the DIY mics, Audio Input compatibility of different OS versions, pls refer to our Wiki, and to other links on the right side of our touchmods.wordpress.com blog.
     
  8. macrumors 6502a

    RiCEADDiCTBOY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #8
    Thats not 100% true either. You don't need to jailbreak a 1st Gen...

    Purchase a mic that connects to the dock - download skype and enjoy.
     
  9. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    #9
    i think all you have to do is buy a pair of apple earbuds that have a mic on it.Thats what i do and it worked
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    RiCEADDiCTBOY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #10
    not possible on a 1st gen as the model is missing an extra wire that enables voice through the stereo input.

    for a 1st gen...your main and only option is to use the dock input and purchase a mic (http://www.amazon.com/Macally-IVOIC...=UTF8&s=office-products&qid=1239400516&sr=8-2 / note** there is another macally that you can purchase that doesn't have a speaker...which is what you want because if you purchase that one...the only output for sound is through that device)
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    RiCEADDiCTBOY

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    #11
    ...just plug and play. no need for all that mess.
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    #12
    It will work with a Phone mic headset and a converter

    I have mine working sweet just make sure you get the right one and its cheap or you can get one at Apple for 24 bucks
    good luck guys.
     
  13. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Location:
    Thule GL @ the TOW
    #13
    ...what are you using?

    ...anyone know if a dock to bluetooth connector would allow a BT head set to work with skype?
     
  14. thread starter macrumors regular

    telepati

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Location:
    istanbul
    #14
    I tried with Samsung BT Headset its doesnt work.
     

Share This Page