How can you....

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jbrown, Nov 21, 2005.

  1. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #1
    copy the Tiger system disk? Not wanting to be dodgy as this is for me only - my Panther disk snapped - and I'd like to have a backup if anything happened to my Tiger disk.

    cheers
     
  2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #2
    Use Disk Utility to create an image of it then burn that image to disk? Or is the image too large for DVD-R?
     
  3. strydr macrumors 6502

    strydr

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2005
    Location:
    SoCal
    #3

    Got Toast?
     
  4. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #4
    tried that - and it repeatedly hangs about 1/3d into the copy, and I get an error message ( cant remember it exactly ) - this reminded me that I read somewhere that you cant copy them normally.
     
  5. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
  6. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #6
    Toast it ... Record works everytime. ;)


    peace | neut
     
  7. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
  8. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #8
    What version of Toast are you running? I've got an older version ... im afraid that an upgrade would ruin my flawless burning. :)


    peace | neut
     
  9. Lacero macrumors 604

    Lacero

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    A defective DVD disk can cause sensekey errors, but the most likely cause is not enough data was feed to Toast for it to burn the disc. Try increasing your buffer, closing open apps and letting run exclusively.
     
  10. Will Cheyney macrumors 6502a

    Will Cheyney

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #10
    From looking at the screenshot, he is running version 6.
    The only times I've ever had problems is because of a defective disc.
     
  11. SummerBreeze macrumors 6502a

    SummerBreeze

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #11
    If you have an iPod, you can put a copy of the disk on there. I'm not entirely sure how to do this, but there's a guide on this forum for it. Maybe that will work better for you, since toast seems to have issues.
     
  12. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #12
    Out of curiosity ... which version of Tiger is this DVD?


    peace | neut
     
  13. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #13
    hah that should be their new advertising campaign! ;)
     
  14. neut macrumors 68000

    neut

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Location:
    here (for now)
    #14
    Please don't feed the animals. :mad:


    peace | neut
     
  15. Mitthrawnuruodo Moderator emeritus

    Mitthrawnuruodo

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Location:
    Bergen, Norway
    #15
    Don't burn at "Best speed", go down to half speed (of whatever has the poorest speed of your DVD-R and DVD-burner). That should prevent those kind of errors. (Even if I've never seen that specific one).

    Also, just to state the very obvious, make sure your Tiger DVD and the blank media is clean... ;)

    I made 2 copies of my Tiger DVD with Toast 6 when I got my family pack, and only made one "coaster" in the process, and that was because I forgot to reduce burn speed. :)
     

Share This Page