How Do I Best Mix Old and New Airport Express?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Designer Dale, Jan 26, 2013.

  1. Designer Dale, Jan 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013

    macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #1
    My oldest Airport Express burned out recently and I got a new dual-band version to replace it with. I will be using it with one of the older single band ones in an extended network. Should I connect the new one to the Internet connection and use the older one as the repeater or will it even matter? I was thinking that the newer one would give better initial range because it can broadcast at up to 5GHz.

    I use two laptops (08 and 2001 vintage Macs), an iPad and two iPhones in a small single story house with a finished basement. All the computers are on the first floor with a max of three walls between the devices and the router.

    Dale
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    RedCroissant

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Definitely connect the newer one and use the older one as a repeater. Just try and put each of them near the center of the house if you can; the new one on the first floor, and the older one in the basement.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    spork183

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2006
    #3
    You may need to play with placement. I had a new AExpress extending from my timecapsule coming from the cable modem. Then I used the early model (so timecapsule to AE-new to AE-old) in my great room, mainly for audio. Microwave oven in kitchen wrecked havoc on the old AE, with multiple drops. Rearranged them so the new one was in the great room, no more issues. No difference in my coverage in the house with the switch, but placement for the old AE was critical for streaming music.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68040

    Designer Dale

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    Folding space
    #4
    Thanks for the tips. I set this up both ways and using the newer AExpress for the base station gave better coverage in my home. The old one is in my computer room as an extender and it provides full connection speed in my downstairs studio which is just under by computer room.

    Dale
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    #5
    5Ghz does not increase range, it decreases it (less penetration), while increasing speed.
     

Share This Page