How do I change my iPhone keyboard from English US to English UK?

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by StressedSnowCat, Nov 7, 2013.

  1. StressedSnowCat
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    #1
    I already selected hardware keyboard british but for software keyboard there is no option... I find it really frustrating to see "English (US)" displayed when I switch keyboards, I want to get rid of the US mention and if possible replace it with UK. Is that possible? Can I get a british software keyboard?
     
  2. Vegasryn
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #2
    Settings > General > International > Region Format
     
  3. StressedSnowCat
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    #3
    It's already set to UK. Still have a US keyboard.
     
  4. hafr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #4
    Settings, general, keyboard
     
  5. Fantasigraphic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #5
    Sorry for ignorance but won't they be the same?
     
  6. hafr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #6
    There are differences in spelling (color vs colour, aluminum vs aluminium and so on).
     
  7. Fantasigraphic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #7
    I get that... I'm talking about the keyboard.
     
  8. cjmillsnun
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    #8
    UK keyboard will include the £ and € in addition to $. Rather essential in the UK.
     
  9. Fantasigraphic
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Location:
    TN
    #9
    Ahhhh.... Gotcha!
     
  10. hafr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #10
    Autocorrect is tied to the keyboard.

    ----------

    The US keyboard has € and £ as well (written on my iPhone using US keyboard)...
     
  11. wsc9005
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Location:
    Scotland, UK
    #11
    Maybe change the phone's language to British English?
     
  12. StressedSnowCat
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    #12
    Hardware keyboard is set to UK but there is no such choice for Software Keyboard only QWERTY, QWERTZ, AZERTY...
     
  13. hharzer
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #13
    Either I didn't understand your question correctly or I'm missing the point, but when I add an extra keyboard I can choose between English and English (UK)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Kissaragi
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    #14
    There is no hardware keyboard on iOS devices?
     
  15. Liebo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Liebo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    #15
    Hardware keyboard for when paired via Bluetooth.

    Try gong into international settings and ensuring region format is correct.
     
  16. hafr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #16
    "English" is US, you have to add English UK in settings > general > keyboard > keyboards > add new keyboard
     
  17. Solomani
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68020

    Solomani

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #17
    Ah yes. North America… original birthplace of the English language. :D
     
  18. Liebo
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors member

    Liebo

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    #18
    Hardware keyboard options are for keyboard dock or when paired via Bluetooth.

    Set default language in the international settings then you have "normal" English British keyboard and English (us) as optional not other way around.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1384089447.842826.jpg
     
  19. hafr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #19
    Considering it's an American product, I don't really find it weird that AmE is simply "English" and BrE has the addition (UK), but I get your point ;)
     
  20. hafr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #20
    Must be the region format that does it in that case, because I've got English and English (UK) to choose from in Add keyboard...
     

    Attached Files:

  21. balamw, Nov 10, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2013

    balamw
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #21
    Language seems to be what controls [the default choice of keyboard]. Selecting British English give me a UK keyboard [only] even with a US region format.

    B
     
  22. hafr
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #22
    Controls what? You can add/remove any and all keyboards no matter what you've set up under Language, and English is AmE whilst English (UK) is BrE.
     
  23. balamw
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
  24. Davesum
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    #24
    Hope I'm doing this right as this is the first time on this forum.

    I just had the same problem in setting up iOS 8 with either English UK or Australian default as I am tired of predictive txt changing my correct spelling.

    Eventually I simply made a new keyboard (I chose English Australian) then immediately pressed 'edit' and deleted the default leaving only the Australian. It seems to have worked and the default US can be retrieved by resetting preferences. If you don't delete the default it seems to dominate whenever it can.

    written to help anyone else who has this problem :)
     

Share This Page