how do i change my mac address and maybe my ip address

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Anarchy99, Sep 9, 2005.

  1. Anarchy99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #1
    how change my mac address and maybe my ip address
    i have shaw internet and i want to change my ip
    i tried renew dhcp lease cause i heard that works but it didnt
    id also like to know how to change and or spoof my mac address i have no clue how in osx
    if you need more info just let me know il try to say what i can
    thanks hope someone can help
     
  2. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #2
    Your ISP will give you whatever IP their DHCP server feels like. Call them up if you'd like to pay for a static IP.

    Who/what are you hacking that you need to spoof a MAC address?
     
  3. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #3
    You might want to Google "anonymous internet surfing" ...
     
  4. SpaceMagic macrumors 68000

    SpaceMagic

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Location:
    Cardiff, Wales
    #4
    I can't possibly think of a moral let alone legal reason why you'd need to fake your MAC address. Please enlighten us...
     
  5. Mac_Freak macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    #5
    Mac address is like a finger print of your network device, changing/faking that would be naughty.:D
     
  6. Eniregnat macrumors 68000

    Eniregnat

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Location:
    In your head.
    #6
    Actually, some wonderful person posted how to do it using terminal. I have seen the articles on doing it for Safari, but it can be done for all network communication.

    Likely teen porn fantasies or other nefarious activities. Don't do it, once you down load the key for Barney’s Typing Tutor you'll down load SpongeBob Paint, then games like Pong. Don't do it, its a slippery path. Oh, no.. Do you want pirate copies of Vivaldi and Bach? The eBible... For shame.

    The only legitimate reasons are to test network security and this second weird idea. Spoofing can be used as a key for security. Go with me on this. It's easy to lock a access out for anybody with out a particular Mac address, but this still allows all users who have authorized Mac addresses access to the network if they have all other keys necessary. So a poor mans way of limiting band width can be to only allow those that can spoof Mac addresses. Two computers attempting to access network bandwidth (if allowed) causes access to become unstable. Think about sifting through multi-colored sand for just the color you want. Boom crash. Let's say I have a home wireless network and I want to limit access to 3 computers at a time, but I don't have much control over who gets what access- room mates. Let's say these people are sociable, but not social- i.e. pleasant goths. So to keep everybody happy, I can do one of 2 things. I can assign each user a single Mac address, so that they can choose what machine they want to have access, but only one at a time, or I can arbitrary create 3 a small number of Mac Addresses and post them. If they are all taken, and somebody attempts to gain access... it's a crash for just two computers.

    I know it's odd, but it's a sound idea. I doubt anybody would go through this to limit bandwidth though.

    Edit: I am awair of software that is there to allow for packet sifting, but really it's a lot of trouble, especially if both computers are requesting wireless data.
     
  7. MacNut macrumors Core

    MacNut

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2002
    Location:
    CT
    #7
    So are the porn sites you would be visiting too. :D :p
     
  8. Anarchy99 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2003
    #8
    ok im not planning on anything illegal but im paranoid about something from the summer i would prefer not to go into detail
     
  9. Eric5h5 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    #9
    With a name like "Anarchy99"? Yeah, yeah, suuuure, uh huh, right. ;)

    --Eric
     
  10. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #11
    Actually some cable internet companies, like Insight, remember your MAC address. If it changes you must call them up to have them reset your account. So when I bought my first iMac, it couldn't get on, so I called them up and they mentioned the above scenario. So I kept my iMac online for awhile but desired a shared solution. So, when I bought my first wireless router, it had the ability to clone, or spoof, a MAC address. So, I spoofed my iMac's MAC address on the WAN port so I wouldn't have to call Insight.

    There you go: a moral and legal reason to spoof a MAC address.
     
  11. hmmfe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    #12
    ifconfig

    The "ifconfig" command works to change your MAC address as well.

    belvdr: This *might* also be illegal/immoral. Some cable companies only allow a single connection with their service. If you need more, they try to require that you puchase additional IP addresses or a home networking kit. Not suggesting this is the case with your ISP, but the devil is in the small print.
     
  12. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #13
    I fully understand that they only want to issue one IP address, and the MAC does it for them.. somewhat. Also, it's not illegal or immoral since I followed their rules, which state you won't run a business on a residential cable service. I don't believe there is any ISP out there that has a contract that states "you are authorized to use one computer for this Internet connection". Actually that might be a good way to run off customers.. :)

    Finally, I have no idea what the person who started this thread desires..
     
  13. hmmfe macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2003
    #14
    Lack of belief on your part does not change reality. I never suggested that your ISP has such a provision in their AUP. Not knowing what ISP you use, I only said that they might as some ISPs do limit the number of computers.
     
  14. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #15
    I think I'd like to hear more...
    :confused:
     
  15. TheMonarch macrumors 65816

    TheMonarch

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Location:
    Bay Area
    #16
    What did you do in the summer. I'm really really curious. Its not like we know where you live, or are going to bust into your house.


    Was is a hack?
    music?
    movies?
    games?
    tv shows?
    porn?



    Give us something... :D :D :D
     
  16. untamedhysteria macrumors regular

    untamedhysteria

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #17
    about the internet companies not allowing multiple mac addresses for one ip address...that is right...most won't allow it...cuz they want more money for additional connections...that's why usually you have to have a router to bypass this crap...just as long as you aren't using a lot of bandwidth from one ip address they don't address the issue...the different mac address for one ip means a business connection usually...and they will want more money for a business connection...
     
  17. belvdr macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #18
    Um, okay. I wasn't trying to get you upset, nor was I trying to argue. I was just clarifying my situation.

    --Peace..
     
  18. Laplace macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Location:
    Huntsville, AL
    #19
    I know what you did last summer...
     
  19. Josh2022 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    #20

    Chances of you getting cought for something, slim to nothing.. unless ofcourse u tried hacking the pentagon or something.. Lmao.. but i mean you shouldnt have to be that worried
     
  20. Blackheart macrumors 6502a

    Blackheart

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Location:
    Seattle
    #21
    Ha. Likely, if someone hacked the pentagon, 1) they wouldn't need our help in changing their MAC address or IP, 2) they should have already left the country and discontinued all use of the internet. :p

    EDIT: Not to belittle your L337 hacking skills or anything :rolleyes: , but why are you having to ask a mac user group how to change your MAC and IP?
     
  21. angelneo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Location:
    afk
  22. GFLPraxis macrumors 604

    GFLPraxis

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    #23
    If you're paranoid, there's nothing wrong with changing your IP address, but you really don't need to worry about changing your MAC address. No one is going to be sending packets across the internet based on your computer's MAC address alone without having your IP address first.
     

Share This Page