How do I change regions?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by joey4127, May 30, 2005.

  1. joey4127 macrumors 6502

    joey4127

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
  2. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #2
    You're not supposed to be able to. You're only supposed to beable to switch region 5 (or 10?) time when you first use the DVD player, then you have to pick one and stcik with it. There are ways to change the region code afterwards, but they're not entirely on the level, so you'll have to look for them yourself.
     
  3. MacDudeG4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #4
    You can't change regions directly. It is possible to buy a DVD player that is region free and allow you to play any DVD regardless of region. I am not sure how much they would cost since I don't have a need for playing anything other than region 1 DVDs but I would think that they are costed about the same as a regular DVD player.
     
  4. joey4127 thread starter macrumors 6502

    joey4127

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    #5
    I just meant switching it with the 8 times I can.
     
  5. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #6
    you might be able to flash your dvd drive to a firmware with region-free ability, and perhaps some other perks ;) such as if you have a Pioneer 117D in your powermac/emac you can flash it to a region-free, unlocked rip speed, 16x, etc etc. 108. i'm sure there are a lot of other drives you can do this with. does void your drive's warranty though, but not the rest of the computer afaik
     

Share This Page