How do I change the "Bounding Box" option after it's placed?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by plem, Apr 18, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #1
    In Indesign. Does anyone know how to clear the "Crop to" that was chosen in the "Import options" after the item is placed in the document?

    Or, let's say I place an item and then I decide that I would like to crop it to the "Bleed box dimensions" instead of the "Trim dimensions" that I chose when it was imported. Is there any way to do this?
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    citizenzen

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #2

    I tried a little experiment in Indesign. The results showed that nothing could clear Crop to: options on an already placed object.

    If anybody knows how, I'd love to hear the solution.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Apple Key

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    #3
    Can you give a step by step to reproduce? What type of a placed item are we talking about here?
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #4
    Just a placed PDF file in Indesign. For example...While placing a PDF file in the "import options" and I choose the "Trim box" under the "Crop to:" option.
    After it is placed in the doc I would now like to change that and open up to the "Bleed box".
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Apple Key

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    #5
    Now I see what you're after. The only way that I saw is relinking the files, which is obviously a pain and pretty much the same as reimporting them.

    Someone asked the same question on Adobe's forum, this might help:
    http://forums.adobe.com/message/3691681
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #6
    Ahhhh... That does sounds like my problem. They seem a little more advanced than I am. What did they do create a script? I'm not sure how to go about that.
    How can there be no way to change that option directly in Indesign without having to write a script for it?

    Seems ridiculous that this is not a common issue. I've come across this many times before but have always just done a work-around to avoid the issue.

    Somebody must know a better way. Replacing the item re-sizes the new item. There has to be a way to keep it from resizing while keeping it from shifting position?
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Apple Key

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    #7
    I'm not that familiar with scripting in InDesign either. You can add a script to this path: HD > Applications > Adobe InDesign > Scripts > Scripts Panel. Try out the .jsx file I attached (not sure if it works or not - you may need to adjust the script slightly).

    Yeah it is ridiculous. They really should have just included this as a default preference in InDesign.

    Can't you just relink the file from the Links pane? Obviously that is a pain if you have many files, but it should keep the position.
     

    Attached Files:

    • test.zip
      File size:
      355 bytes
      Views:
      61
  8. macrumors 65816

    citizenzen

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    #8
    Just re-import those puppies.

    How long can it take?

    How many placed PDFs are you talking about?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #9
    Relinking will re-size the item so that it will fit into the previous items box.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Apple Key

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    #10
    Okay, the script is working for me.

    Code:
    var doc = app.activeDocument;
    var graphics = doc.allGraphics;
    app.pdfPlacePreferences.pdfCrop = PDFCrop.cropTrim;
    for (var i = 0; i < graphics.length; i++) {
         image = graphics[i];
         image.absoluteHorizontalScale = 100; // Horizontal Scale
         image.absoluteVerticalScale = 100; // Vertical Scale
         image.place(image.itemLink.filePath);
     
    }
    
    Just replace the third line with whichever one of these you need:

    app.pdfPlacePreferences.pdfCrop = PDFCrop.cropMedia;
    app.pdfPlacePreferences.pdfCrop = PDFCrop.cropBleed;
    app.pdfPlacePreferences.pdfCrop = PDFCrop.cropTrim;
     
  11. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #11
    It's not just the time but also the grief of having to go through the multiple steps for each item to be replaced....

    Hey Apple Key. Thanks, nice try but no cigar. I just tried using the script. It is resizing the items. Same as if I were to just relink them.

    ----------

    Try your script with a pdf that has different dimensions for each of the "Trim,Bleed,and Media" boxes
     
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #12
    oops. That sounded harsh.
    Sorry bout that. I do appreciate the help.
     
  13. macrumors 6502a

    Apple Key

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    #13
    :) No worries, I know what you meant.

    I'm seeing the same thing as you, with the script resizing the items. Unfortunately I have no idea how to fix it. Sorry.

    There must be a scripting expert out there who can solve this.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #14
    Can we revisit this issue?

    This is definitely the same issue here, only now it is happening with a placed Illustrator file. I will try to explain further because I still need a fix. It is really annoying.

    I have a customers file with placed .ai images. In Indesign I need to update the images and turn off a layer using Indesign's Object Layers option. When I do this the already placed images will shift according to the "Visible Layers" in the .ai file.

    What I need is the placed images to NOT SHIFT while turning off the layers.

    I have figured out that while placing an image when the "Place Image" popup window comes up and in the "General" tab where it has the "Options" to "crop to:" . I will only achieve what I need to do if I choose to place an image using the option of "(All Layers)" rather than choosing the "(Visible Layers Only)".

    Now, is there a way to change to the "Crop to: (All Layers)" option on an already placed image?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    #15

Share This Page