How do I change the button function on new Macbook?

Discussion in 'OS X' started by BoxNut, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #1
    You know those buttons on macbooks that have little icons on them? (i.e. brightness, volume, etc.)

    Well, i turned off the dashboard/widgets thing, so i'd like to change that button's function (*f4) to "activate spaces". I do not want to have to hold the fn key when doing it, i simply want to be able to push it to activate spaces.

    Thank you for your time.
     
  2. macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #2
    System Preferences > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard Shortcuts
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #3
    uh.. nope, not what i'm looking for...
    i've tried that and the icon/button i'm looking for doesn't appear in the list. if i try to make a new one, nothing happens when i push the button in the field that asks what button to modify.

    i'm guessing that the solution will involve terminal...
     
  4. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #5
    again, no...

    if you read my post, i want to change what the ONE button does.... i still want to use all the others (volume, etc.) but change the dashboard button to spaces...

    i do not want to change all the buttons to their "F" function

    but thanks for trying :p
     
  6. macrumors G4

    flopticalcube

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    Location:
    In the velcro closure of America's Hat
    #6
    What button does Spaces appear for now? It should defaiult to F8.

    Check in Sys Prefs-> Expose and Spaces
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #7
    yes, f8
    but i want to make it for f4/dashboard and NOT have to push fn or switch it so that the fn function is default
     
  8. macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #8
    Yeah, I think you're SOL.
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    #9
    FunctionFlip should allow you to configure the F-key the way you want.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2007
    #10
    Perfect! thank you!
     

Share This Page