How do I connect securely to my Mac on intranet?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jsw, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #1
    I feel like an idiot for missing what must be a blatantly obvious thing here.

    I have two Macs on an intranet at home. Dual-2.0 G5 wired to a Linksys WRT54G, 800 Mhz iMac connected to an AirPort Express being used as a bridge (i.e., it's connected to the Linksys).

    I can SSH between the two with no problem, either direction. However, when I go to connect to either one from the other ("connect" meaning pressing ?-K in the Finder), I'm told I cannot connect securely, no matter how the options are set on either machine (see images).

    As I said, SSH works fine either way, so that's not it.

    What blatantly obvious thing am I missing?

    Edit: both running latest 10.3.8, but the problem has always been there.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #2
    I also get this to when trying to connect between my iMac and my father's iMac.... I'll be interested to see what the answer is.
     
  3. jsw thread starter Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    On the phone with tech support (first time I've used AppleCare for software). We'll see what they say. I wonder if it's the Linksys settings, as I have the problem even with my PB connected directly to the router (i.e., no wireless step).
     
  4. musicpyrite macrumors 68000

    musicpyrite

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    #4
    I don't think it would be the Linksys router in particular, unless this problem occurs across all routers.

    I also get this error when I'm connected to my Airport base station (wired), and my dad's computer is connected wirelessly.

    The same happens when I try to connect my computer through a D-Link 604 --> Airport Extreme --> ~magical wirelessness~ --> dad's computer.
     
  5. jsw thread starter Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #5
    They're still consulting amongst themselves. Since the problem occurs for me when using only the wired router functionality, we can rule out wireless as a cause.

    The guy said this must be "really rare". Odd, as we both see it, and I see it with all three Macs at home. And our routers aren't exactly "fringe"....
     
  6. therevolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    #6
    I've never tried doing this before, but since you asked, I gave it a shot. I'm also getting the same error message, and I don't see what the problem is either.
     
  7. jsw thread starter Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #7
    They're claiming it's unsupported because it isn't through an AirPort, which I think is complete BS. They can't tell me the ports in use, the panel says it's SSH, and SSH works fine. Plus, this is all internal, so the router firewall shouldn't be interfering (tried turning it off, same results).

    Can anyone out there connect using ⌘-K on their intranet to another Mac securely? If so, what is your setup?
     
  8. wwillie2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    #8
    I'm not sure why you are trying to connect securely if you are behind a firewall. Have you tried connecting to other Macs without encryption?
     
  9. jsw thread starter Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #9
    I'm not worried about security behind the firewall (as of now), and, yes, I can connect less securely. However, I'm concerned that this option doesn't work, and am curious as to why - it seems as though it should work, as SSH works fine via Terminal. it annoys me that Apple support has blown this off, when clearly it isn't an isolated incident, and I don't feel like spending $199 on an AirPort Extreme just to see if it'll work.
     
  10. therevolution macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    #10
    Might be more trouble than it's worth to you, but you could probably directly connect them with an ethernet cable, taking the Linksys router out of the picture completely. Then Apple support couldn't disqualify you on a technicality, so to speak.
     
  11. jsw thread starter Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #11
    Yah, I thought of that. I might just do it so I can call back and ask why it still isn't working....

    Has anyone gotten the secure connection to work?
     
  12. wwillie2 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2005
    #12
    http://stocksy.is-a-geek.com/information/ssh/ssh.php (very bottom)

    As this website says, using the security in the flie sharing only encrypts the password and not the data. So it suggests piping the apple file sharing through ssh. Since you have ssh working in the terminal, this should work.
     
  13. jsw thread starter Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #13
    Ah, nice. Hadn't thought of that. Still get the dumb error when I connect, but at least now I know of a way to do so securely should I need to in the future. Thanks!
     

Share This Page