How do I copy a PC only CD on a Mac??

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by ChrisH3677, Nov 5, 2003.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #1
    I have a TiBook with 10.2.8 on it and a SuperDrive.

    I tried to copy a CD and although the copy appears the same when read in my Mac, it appears blank in a PC.

    The process I followed was:

    - Run Disk Copy
    - Drag original CD to Disk Copy which created an image (said Ignore rather than initialize)
    - Put blank CD in drive (yeah ok, i took the original out first!! :D )
    - Clicked Burn

    What'd I do wrong?!!

    Also, how do I create a CD that is readable in Windows drives? I made a data CD last week only to find Windows couldn't read it.

    thanks

    chris
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Location:
    México
    #2
    What are you doing wrong...

    let's see...

    how 'bout everything? :D

    No matter how hard you try, the way you're doing it will only make Mac readable cds.

    Get Roxio Toaster and when you insert the cd, Toaster will run. Make an Hybrid PC/Mac format and then you'll be able to read the cd in Windows.

    I hope I made myself clear.


    Greetings
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #3
    ok.... i just discovered in the preferences i can choose the format. Changed it to MS-DOS. Still didn't work. :(

    (I'm a switcher and I'm still not used to the application's menu bar being always at the top of the screen, so had forgotten to check the preferences)


    Thanks Tarje. I guess I will have to get Toast.

    :)
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #4
    Toast Titanium

    You need to buy Roxio's Toast Titanium, currently on versoin 6. Will work like a charm on any kind of CD :)

    It's $99, but one of the programs I've used most.

    Tim
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #5
    Woohoo! I found a way to do it. all i did was Duplicated the original CD (which stuck it on the desktop. I then stuck blank CD in and the dragged the files from the copy to the blank. then ejected and burnt.

    it may not auto launch or work for bootable cds but should work for most.



    chris
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Hugin777

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Location:
    Copenhagen
    #6
    Disk Copy -> New Image From Device

    Have you tried opening Disk Copy and selecting New -> Image from device ?

    I used it for taking a backup of my (bootable) Panther install cd's. Worked perfectly.

    In Panther just select the device in Disk Utility and select New -> Image from disk1.
     

Share This Page