How do I delete a wireless network created on my Mac?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by AngerDanger, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. macrumors 68000

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Male
    #1
    I recently got a MacBook Pro, and the first thing I did was connect to the internet via AirPort. Later, I discovered that the IP's of both my MBP and my old Windows PC conflicted with each other, so I created a wireless network on my Mac in attempt to fix that. I ended up fixing the problem some other way but still have the "Barrieau's MacBook Pro" network in my available networks list and would like to know how to delete the network.

    I've seen other posts like this, tried them, but none worked for me. Does anyone know how to delete a wireless network?
     
  2. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #2
    System Preferences > Network > Airport > Advanced > Airport > Delete does not work?
    [​IMG]
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Male
    #3
    Thanks, but it doesn't even show up in my preferred networks. It shows up in the WiFi drop down icon in the menu bar and on my iPod touch.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Darth.Titan

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #4
    As long as your Mac detects that network in range, it will be in that list. I don't know of a way to make your Mac "ignore" a particular network.

    Don't worry about it.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Male
    #5
    Well, the network was created by my Mac and isn't connected by any other computer right now, so to put it into intense-movie-terms: my Mac created the network, so it can destroy it, right? Also, I do not want to ignore it. I would like to remove it from existence so even other devices wont be able to view it.

    Anybody have any other suggestions?
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #6
    Cheers, just disconect from your network on the airport logo, the network only appears as long as you are "connected" to that network.

    Hope it was helpfull.

    *Edit: i'm assuming you did an ad-hoc network to connect 2 devices*
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Male
    #7
    That can't be it because I can't disconnect from the network since I'm not connected to it. :eek: Thanks though.

    I just used the default option for creating a network: "Create a Computer-to-Computer Network". They sound the same.
     
  8. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    #8
    [​IMG]

    It's just when i choose disconect from.... the network stops being avaliable, are you sure that there is no other computer on your range making a network?

    The "host" computer remains in airport view if it's connected.

    btw i'm assuming you are running Snow Leopard cos that's where i'm testing.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Male
    #9
    What happens when you press Disconnect button? Does the network disappear from the drop-down list and stops appearing on other devices? It doesn't do that when I disconnect.

    Yes, I'm using Snow Leopard.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Male
    #10
    Ok, I just had a major breakthrough: I turned off my computer and checked my iPod touch to see if the network was still available. It was, so that means that my Windows PC is connected to it right now, too.

    But it doesn't show up in my list of available wireless networks on my PC, so what does that mean? Is it possible for my iPod to host the network without being connected to it? Or is it possible for my PC to be connected to it even if it doesn't know that it's available?
     
  11. macrumors 6502a

    jzuena

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Burlington, MA, USA
    #11
    Although I don't believe you can create an Ad-Hoc network from an iPod touch, if it is connected to one when the computer that created it is shut off, it might be enough to keep the network up and advertised to other computers when they come up. It may be best to shut off networking on all of the devices at the same time to ensure the network really goes away.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 68000

    AngerDanger

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Location:
    Male
    #12
    Problem Solved

    After turning off my Windows PC and realizing that the network must've been hosted there, I removed it from the list of preferred networks on my PC, rebooted, and the network disappeared from my menu bar. Thanks everyone.
     

Share This Page