how do i delete programs

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by bmc1818, Aug 8, 2006.

1. bmc1818 macrumors member

I am somewhat new to os x, and want to know how to get rid of a program and all its files. On windows i know how, but on a mac what is the best way. I want to get rid of a program and make sure it hasnt left any unneeded programs on my macbook pro.

Thanks

2. netdog macrumors 603

netdog

Get a program called AppZapper. It removes all the little system files associated with the application as well. Great piece of software.

3. MacRumoron macrumors 6502

you could use this, but it isn't free:
    http://appzapper.com/

or just use spotlight and search the application name (thats what i do sometimes) :p

it doesn't get every file but good enough for me

4. rafifreak00 macrumors regular

rafifreak00

Is there a freeware alternative to appzapper besides deinstaller?

5. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Depending on the app, you should be able to simply drag it to the Trash, along with some of its associated files (do a search on your machine with Find or Spotlight for other files) and empty the Trash. :)

6. FleurDuMal macrumors 68000

FleurDuMal

Does anyone else think that the complete lack of native uninstalling utitlity in OS X is rather strange and a huge oversight on Apple's part?! Do they simply want you to keep every program you ever install? Even Windows has a Uninstaller.

7. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member

In the vast majority of cases, you just drag the app to the Trash. Complex apps that scatter files around the system typically include uninstallers.

8. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

gauchogolfer